Skip Navigation Links
Licensing
Laws
Continuing Education
Employer Information
Nursing Practice
Advanced Practice
Nursing Programs
Alternative Program
Monitoring
Endorsement
CE Information for Endorsement

You must have 24 contact hours to endorse. As stated in the Alabama Board of Nursing Administrative Code Rule 610-X-10-.05, (See Administrative Code at the Board’s web site, www.abn.alabama.gov) all required contact hours may be obtained from the following activities: workshops, seminars, classroom, web casts, internet, intranet, home study, continuing education journals, and pod casts.

 

The following standardized national programs are accepted for continuing education in accordance with Rule 610-X-10 of the Alabama Board of Nursing Administrative Code. The national provider determines the number of hours. The hours listed are the maximum number of contact hours the Board shall recognize, unless an Alabama Board of Nursing -approved provider awards more in accordance with Chapter 610-X-10-.04 (f) of the Alabama Board of Nursing Administrative Code.   Submit a copy of your wallet card (indicate initial/renewal).

(i) Basic Life Support Healthcare Provider Initial Course: 4.5 contact hours.

(ii) Basic Life Support Healthcare Provider Renewal Course: 3 contact hours.

(iii) Advanced Cardiac Life Support Initial Course: 13.5 contact hours.

(iv) Advanced Cardiac Life Support Renewal Course: 9 contact hours.

(v) Pediatric Advanced Life Support Initial Course: 14 contact hours.

(vi) Pediatric Advanced Life Support Renewal Course: 8.5 contact hours with optional lessons; 6.5 contact hours without the optional lessons.

(vii) Instructor Course: Core Instructor Course: 8 contact hours plus discipline specific component.

(a) Advanced Cardiac Life Support Instructor Course—discipline specific component: 7.5 contact hours.

(b) Basic Life Support Instructor Course—discipline specific component: 5.5 contact hours.

(c) Pediatric Advanced Life Support Instructor Course--discipline specific component: 9.5 contact hours.

(viii) Electrocardiography (ECG) and Pharmacology: 6.25 contact hours.

(ix) Electrocardiography: 3.5 contact hours.

(x) Pharmacology: 2.75 hours.

(xi) Pediatric Emergency, Assessment, Recognition and Stabilization (PEARS): 7 contact hours.

(xii) Trauma Nursing Core Course (TNCC): 14.42 contact hours.

(xiii) Emergency Nursing Pediatric Course (ENPC): 15.33 contact hours.

(xiv) Course in Advanced Trauma Nursing (CATN): 13 hours.

(xv) Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation/Automatic External Defibrillator (CPR / AED) for Professional Rescuer: 8 contact hours for initial course or four (4) contact hours for review / update course

(xvi) Instructor Course for CPR / AED for Professional Rescuer: 16 contact hours

(xvii) International Trauma Life Support

(a) International Trauma Life Support– Advanced Provider: 16 contact hours

(b) International Trauma Life Support – Instructor: 8 contact hours

(c) International Trauma Life Support Pediatric –Provider: 8 contact hours

(g) Neonatal advanced life support or neonatal resuscitation program: The Board may recognize the total contact hours awarded by a Board-approved or Board-recognized provider.

College courses completed after initial licensure can be used as continuing education. 
  • 15 contact hours = 1 academic semester credit hour
  • 10 contact hours = 1 academic quarter credit hour
A transcript would be required as evidence.


Employee in-service hours must be printed on company letterhead (must include class title, the date, and the hours awarded for each class) and signed by an education coordinator.  We do not accept employee transcripts.

 

Please refer to the Continuing Ed section of the Board’s website (www.abn.alabama.gov) for further information on continuing education, CE provider look up and upcoming CE opportunities.

 

Appearance on this page represents neither recommendation nor endorsement by the Alabama Board of Nursing. This page is being provided as a service.



Licensing