Skip Navigation Links
Licensing
Laws
Continuing Education
Employer Information
Nursing Practice
Advanced Practice
Nursing Programs
Alternative Program
Monitoring
Frequently Asked Questions
FAQ - Continuing Education Reporting and Audit

  1. What information regarding continuing education is required for license renewal?  Are documents validating contact hours to be submitted at the time of license renewal?
  2. What is an audit?
  3. What happens if records are not submitted on time?
  4. What happens if records do not evidence compliance?
  5. Are there circumstances where a nurse may be automatically selected for audit?
  6. What happens if the nurse does not respond to the continuing education audit?

1.  What information regarding continuing education is required for license renewal?  Are documents validating contact hours to be submitted at the time of license renewal?

The nurse’s online CE record must be updated and complete before beginning the license renewal process.  Documents of attendance/completion of continuing education activities are not to be submitted to the Board of Nursing at the time of license renewal unless requested by the Board.  Nurses renewing online are required to provide the same information.

2. What is an audit?

The Board will conduct audits to determine compliance with requirements for continuing education for license renewal.  An audit consists of a review of documentation of continuing education.  Nurses will be asked to submit records of continuing education activities/courses completed in the appropriate accrual period.  The records must be submitted within 30 days of the date the written request is mailed first class to the address of record.  The Board will review individual online CE records for all nurses selected for audit.

3. What happens if records are not submitted on time?

Licensees failing to comply with requests for documents within the appropriate time must pay a late CE compliance fee. Current late CE compliance fees are:

                  1st time $ 150.00
                  2nd time$ 300.00
                  3rd time $ 600.00

4.  What happens if records do not evidence compliance?

Nurses failing to meet continuing education requirements are subject to disciplinary action by the Board as outlined in the Alabama Board of Nursing Administrative Code, Chapter 610-X-8 and Chapter 610-X-10 pursuant to the Code of Alabama, 1975, Section 34-21-25.  Failure to meet continuing education requirements shall be cause for the license to lapse.

5. Are there circumstances where a nurse may be automatically selected for audit?

A nurse who fails to comply with requests for documents within the time specified or fails to evident compliance will be selected for audit the subsequent renewal.

6.  What happens if the nurse does not respond to the continuing education audit?

A registered nurse or licensed practical nurse who fails to comply with reporting requirements, requirements of the audit, requests for documents, or submitting false, inaccurate, or incomplete evidence of meeting continuing education requirements will be subject to disciplinary action by the Board.


Continuing Education