Apply

ABN licenses nearly 90,000 registered nurses (RNs) and licensed practical nurses (LPNs), and approves advanced practice nurses, making nurses the largest population of professionals regulated by any single licensing board in the state.

The license period is for two years based upon the renewal cycle of the license. LPN renewal is every ODD numbered year and RN renewal is every EVEN numbered year. Thus, a license issued prior to August 31 will expire December 31 of that same year if it is a renewal year for that license type. For example, an LPN license issued 08/31/2017 will expire on 12/31/2017; whereas an RN license issued 08/31/2017 will not expire until 12/31/2018. (Renewal begins September 1 each year.)

EXAM: BASIC REQUIREMENTS
REQUIREMENT INFORMATION
ELECTRONIC APPLICATION You must submit a complete application. For information about what is required on the application, see the Licensure by Exam FAQs (below).

Note: The application for licensure as a nurse in the state of Alabama is intended for completion only by the individual applying for licensure and should not be completed by any third party on behalf of the applicant. The application requires an attestation by the applicant as to the accuracy and completeness of the information to the Alabama Board of Nursing. Please note that any applicant or licensee of the Board who provides incomplete or inaccurate information on an application is subject to discipline against his or her license.

APPLICATION FEE(S):
Electronic payment via credit or debit card
  • Application: $85
  • Temporary Permit: $50
  • Transaction Fee: $3.50
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (SSN) You must have a valid Social Security Number. You will not be able to complete the application without submitting your SSN.
CITIZENSHIP/LEGAL PRESENCE:
You must be a citizen or legal US resident
For information on meeting this requirement, please refer to the Citizenship/Legal Presence FAQs (below). You must complete and submit the appropriate form and supporting documentation to the Board.

Exam Applicants:

NURSING PROGRAM GRADUATION You must have graduated from a nursing program (RN or PN) which substantially meets the same educational criteria as Alabama nursing programs.
NURSING PROGRAM TRANSCRIPT You must request your nursing program to submit an official transcript to the ABN in a sealed envelope. Faxed transcripts are not accepted.

Citizenship/Legal Presence FAQs

Citizenship/Legal Presence

Why do I have to prove my citizenship when I was born in the US?

The Alabama Immigration Law requires that in order to issue or renew a license, each applicant or licensed nurse is required to submit proof of citizenship or legal presence at least once.
Submit the appropriate checklist and copies of appropriate documents via email, fax, or mail. Contact information is on the form.

Permalink 2 0

Do I have to do this for every renewal?

  • Citizens are only required to be verified once.
  • Non-citizens with a permanent resident card are only required to submit proof one time.
  • Non-citizens with other documents are required to submit proof at time of original licensure and at each renewal.

Permalink 1 0

Do I have to submit this even though I was originally licensed a very long time ago and am reinstating my license?

Yes. The Alabama Immigration Law requires that a licensed nurse is required to submit proof of citizenship or legal presence at least once if she or he is a citizen or non-citizen with a permanent residence card. Non-citizens with other documents must submit documentation at each renewal.

Permalink 1 0

What do I need to do to comply with the citizenship/legal presence requirement?

You must complete the appropriate form for your specific situation and submit the completed form and supporting documentation to the Board.

Exam Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Endorsement Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Reinstatement Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Already Licensed in Alabama Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist

Permalink 3 0

How do I submit my citizenship or legal presence documentation?

There is contact information on the form. Forms may be submitted by email (preferred), mail, fax, or in person at the Board office. For example, a nurse or applicant, who is a US Citizen, may complete the form and take a photo of the form with the person’s Driver’s License in view on the form and email the photo to the email address on the citizenship form.

Permalink 8 0

Licensure by Exam FAQs

Applicant for Licensure by Exam – Application Questions

What information do I have to provide on the application?

You will have to answer questions in the following categories: License Type; Education; Exam & Temp Permit; Regulatory Questions; Preview; and Affirm, Pay & Submit.

Permalink 6 0

What specific information am I expected to provide in the License Type section of the application?

  • You will have to select the type of license for which you are applying, RN or LPN.
  • You will have to answer a question regarding citizenship.
  • You must provide your Social Security Number.
  • You will enter identifying information here as well, such as your name, address, birth date, gender, and email address.

Permalink 3 0

Why does the application ask about my citizenship?

Alabama law requires verification of citizenship or legal presence in the US.
For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

Permalink 3 0

What if the name I use doesn’t match my identification? OR What if I have plans to get married after I graduate and possibly before I am scheduled to test?

Very Important Information Regarding Name:

  1. The FIRST & LAST names that you list on your application must MATCH EXACTLY to the identification you plan to use when you present to take the NCLEX®.
    • For more information on identification requirements for NCLEX®, click here.
  2. The name that you list on the application will be the name under which you are licensed. The name you list will also be used for your Pearson Vue registration and should match the picture ID used to test at the testing center.
  3. Pearson Vue Registration: The SSN is not a mandatory field to register with Pearson Vue. However, the ABN requires that you submit this information to Pearson Vue. You will not be issued a license by the ABN until you provide a SSN.

Permalink 3 1

Do I have to know my school’s Program Code to apply?

The application requires you to identify the nursing program from where you graduated. Programs in the US have the NCLEX® Program Codes readily available for you to choose from in the application. You will have to identify the degree or certificate awarded upon completion of your nursing program. You must also include your graduation date.

Applicants educated outside the US, please refer to the Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs.

Permalink 4 0

What do I need to have my Nursing Program submit to the Board?

An official transcript must be received in a sealed envelope from your school. The graduation date you list on your application must match the graduation date on the transcript.

Permalink 3 0

How do I get a Temporary Permit?

You may request a Temporary Permit when you apply if this is your first time applying for Licensure by Examination (in any jurisdiction). Although there is an area on the application where you may list your employer, you do not have to list an employer to be eligible for a permit. However, a Temporary Permit will not be issued until a complete application has been submitted to the Board, including citizenship/legal presence documentation, official transcript, and supporting documentation for any affirmative responses to regulatory questions. You should also know that a Temporary Permit may or may not be issued due to an affirmative response to any regulatory question. Depending on your individual circumstances and anticipated disclosure(s), you may wish to carefully consider requesting and paying for a Temporary Permit. FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

For more information about activities permitted with a Temporary Permit, please see the Temporary Permit FAQs.

Permalink 1 0

What are Regulatory Questions?

These are questions that aid the Board in determining the applicant’s “good moral character” as required by law. An affirmative response does not preclude an individual from licensure and applicants are expected to read the questions carefully and answer honestly. As a matter-of-fact, many persons are licensed each year who provide affirmative responses to one or more of the regulatory questions. The regulatory questions ask about your past history in the following areas: Criminal History, Substance Use, Physical or Mental Health, Discipline or Investigations of Other Licenses or Professions, and Military Discharge.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 2 0

What documentation will I have to submit if I have to answer “Yes” to a Regulatory Question?

You must submit a detailed written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the event(s) which you are disclosing on your application. You must also submit additional supporting documentation. Examples of supporting documentation include: Case Action Summary for criminal activity; Admission & Discharge Summary for previous substance use or mental health treatment; Military DD214.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 2 0

What is the “Preview” section of the application?

This is where you may review all information submitted on the application for accuracy. You should return to previous screens to make revisions before submitting your application. You will not be able to make any revisions to your application once it is submitted. You should also be aware that failure to answer Regulatory Questions honestly may result in denial or licensure, or disciplinary action if the license is issued.

Permalink 2 0

What is the “Affirm, Pay, & Submit” section of the application?

You will type your electronic signature into the area indicated as your affirmation that the information submitted in your application is true and accurate. You must also submit electronic payment information via credit or debit card for the Application Fee ($85), Transaction Fee ($3.50), and Temporary Permit ($50) (if requested).

Permalink 5 0


REPEAT EXAM APPLICANTS - AL

Requirements

  1. Complete the online Exam application. (You are not eligible for a temporary permit.) For information about what is required on the application, see the Applicant for Licensure by Exam – Application Questions.
  2. Register for NCLEX® with Pearson VUE.
  3. If it has been more than 12 months since you last tested, Board staff may contact you to request any additional required documentation.

Applicant for Licensure by Exam – Application Questions

Applicant for Licensure by Exam – Application Questions

What information do I have to provide on the application?

You will have to answer questions in the following categories: License Type; Education; Exam & Temp Permit; Regulatory Questions; Preview; and Affirm, Pay & Submit.

Permalink 6 0

What specific information am I expected to provide in the License Type section of the application?

  • You will have to select the type of license for which you are applying, RN or LPN.
  • You will have to answer a question regarding citizenship.
  • You must provide your Social Security Number.
  • You will enter identifying information here as well, such as your name, address, birth date, gender, and email address.

Permalink 3 0

Why does the application ask about my citizenship?

Alabama law requires verification of citizenship or legal presence in the US.
For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

Permalink 3 0

What if the name I use doesn’t match my identification? OR What if I have plans to get married after I graduate and possibly before I am scheduled to test?

Very Important Information Regarding Name:

  1. The FIRST & LAST names that you list on your application must MATCH EXACTLY to the identification you plan to use when you present to take the NCLEX®.
    • For more information on identification requirements for NCLEX®, click here.
  2. The name that you list on the application will be the name under which you are licensed. The name you list will also be used for your Pearson Vue registration and should match the picture ID used to test at the testing center.
  3. Pearson Vue Registration: The SSN is not a mandatory field to register with Pearson Vue. However, the ABN requires that you submit this information to Pearson Vue. You will not be issued a license by the ABN until you provide a SSN.

Permalink 3 1

Do I have to know my school’s Program Code to apply?

The application requires you to identify the nursing program from where you graduated. Programs in the US have the NCLEX® Program Codes readily available for you to choose from in the application. You will have to identify the degree or certificate awarded upon completion of your nursing program. You must also include your graduation date.

Applicants educated outside the US, please refer to the Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs.

Permalink 4 0

What do I need to have my Nursing Program submit to the Board?

An official transcript must be received in a sealed envelope from your school. The graduation date you list on your application must match the graduation date on the transcript.

Permalink 3 0

How do I get a Temporary Permit?

You may request a Temporary Permit when you apply if this is your first time applying for Licensure by Examination (in any jurisdiction). Although there is an area on the application where you may list your employer, you do not have to list an employer to be eligible for a permit. However, a Temporary Permit will not be issued until a complete application has been submitted to the Board, including citizenship/legal presence documentation, official transcript, and supporting documentation for any affirmative responses to regulatory questions. You should also know that a Temporary Permit may or may not be issued due to an affirmative response to any regulatory question. Depending on your individual circumstances and anticipated disclosure(s), you may wish to carefully consider requesting and paying for a Temporary Permit. FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

For more information about activities permitted with a Temporary Permit, please see the Temporary Permit FAQs.

Permalink 1 0

What are Regulatory Questions?

These are questions that aid the Board in determining the applicant’s “good moral character” as required by law. An affirmative response does not preclude an individual from licensure and applicants are expected to read the questions carefully and answer honestly. As a matter-of-fact, many persons are licensed each year who provide affirmative responses to one or more of the regulatory questions. The regulatory questions ask about your past history in the following areas: Criminal History, Substance Use, Physical or Mental Health, Discipline or Investigations of Other Licenses or Professions, and Military Discharge.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 2 0

What documentation will I have to submit if I have to answer “Yes” to a Regulatory Question?

You must submit a detailed written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the event(s) which you are disclosing on your application. You must also submit additional supporting documentation. Examples of supporting documentation include: Case Action Summary for criminal activity; Admission & Discharge Summary for previous substance use or mental health treatment; Military DD214.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 2 0

What is the “Preview” section of the application?

This is where you may review all information submitted on the application for accuracy. You should return to previous screens to make revisions before submitting your application. You will not be able to make any revisions to your application once it is submitted. You should also be aware that failure to answer Regulatory Questions honestly may result in denial or licensure, or disciplinary action if the license is issued.

Permalink 2 0

What is the “Affirm, Pay, & Submit” section of the application?

You will type your electronic signature into the area indicated as your affirmation that the information submitted in your application is true and accurate. You must also submit electronic payment information via credit or debit card for the Application Fee ($85), Transaction Fee ($3.50), and Temporary Permit ($50) (if requested).

Permalink 5 0


REPEAT EXAM APPLICANTS - OTHER STATE

Applicants who have taken NCLEX® in another state

  1. You must still be eligible in the State where you originally applied for licensure.
  2. Complete the online Exam application. (You are not eligible for a temporary permit.) For information about what is required on the application, see the Applicant for Licensure by Exam – Application Questions.
  3. Complete Part I of the Out of State Repeat Examination Application Attachment.
    • Contact the Board of Nursing where you originally applied for licensure by exam to see if a fee is charged for completion of the form.
    • Mail the form to the Board of Nursing where you originally applied for licensure by exam who will submit the form to the ABN.
  4. Register for NCLEX with Pearson VUE.
  5. Contact your school of nursing to request that an official transcript be mailed to the Alabama Board of Nursing.

Applicant for Licensure by Exam – Application Questions

Applicant for Licensure by Exam – Application Questions

What information do I have to provide on the application?

You will have to answer questions in the following categories: License Type; Education; Exam & Temp Permit; Regulatory Questions; Preview; and Affirm, Pay & Submit.

Permalink 6 0

What specific information am I expected to provide in the License Type section of the application?

  • You will have to select the type of license for which you are applying, RN or LPN.
  • You will have to answer a question regarding citizenship.
  • You must provide your Social Security Number.
  • You will enter identifying information here as well, such as your name, address, birth date, gender, and email address.

Permalink 3 0

Why does the application ask about my citizenship?

Alabama law requires verification of citizenship or legal presence in the US.
For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

Permalink 3 0

What if the name I use doesn’t match my identification? OR What if I have plans to get married after I graduate and possibly before I am scheduled to test?

Very Important Information Regarding Name:

  1. The FIRST & LAST names that you list on your application must MATCH EXACTLY to the identification you plan to use when you present to take the NCLEX®.
    • For more information on identification requirements for NCLEX®, click here.
  2. The name that you list on the application will be the name under which you are licensed. The name you list will also be used for your Pearson Vue registration and should match the picture ID used to test at the testing center.
  3. Pearson Vue Registration: The SSN is not a mandatory field to register with Pearson Vue. However, the ABN requires that you submit this information to Pearson Vue. You will not be issued a license by the ABN until you provide a SSN.

Permalink 3 1

Do I have to know my school’s Program Code to apply?

The application requires you to identify the nursing program from where you graduated. Programs in the US have the NCLEX® Program Codes readily available for you to choose from in the application. You will have to identify the degree or certificate awarded upon completion of your nursing program. You must also include your graduation date.

Applicants educated outside the US, please refer to the Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs.

Permalink 4 0

What do I need to have my Nursing Program submit to the Board?

An official transcript must be received in a sealed envelope from your school. The graduation date you list on your application must match the graduation date on the transcript.

Permalink 3 0

How do I get a Temporary Permit?

You may request a Temporary Permit when you apply if this is your first time applying for Licensure by Examination (in any jurisdiction). Although there is an area on the application where you may list your employer, you do not have to list an employer to be eligible for a permit. However, a Temporary Permit will not be issued until a complete application has been submitted to the Board, including citizenship/legal presence documentation, official transcript, and supporting documentation for any affirmative responses to regulatory questions. You should also know that a Temporary Permit may or may not be issued due to an affirmative response to any regulatory question. Depending on your individual circumstances and anticipated disclosure(s), you may wish to carefully consider requesting and paying for a Temporary Permit. FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

For more information about activities permitted with a Temporary Permit, please see the Temporary Permit FAQs.

Permalink 1 0

What are Regulatory Questions?

These are questions that aid the Board in determining the applicant’s “good moral character” as required by law. An affirmative response does not preclude an individual from licensure and applicants are expected to read the questions carefully and answer honestly. As a matter-of-fact, many persons are licensed each year who provide affirmative responses to one or more of the regulatory questions. The regulatory questions ask about your past history in the following areas: Criminal History, Substance Use, Physical or Mental Health, Discipline or Investigations of Other Licenses or Professions, and Military Discharge.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 2 0

What documentation will I have to submit if I have to answer “Yes” to a Regulatory Question?

You must submit a detailed written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the event(s) which you are disclosing on your application. You must also submit additional supporting documentation. Examples of supporting documentation include: Case Action Summary for criminal activity; Admission & Discharge Summary for previous substance use or mental health treatment; Military DD214.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 2 0

What is the “Preview” section of the application?

This is where you may review all information submitted on the application for accuracy. You should return to previous screens to make revisions before submitting your application. You will not be able to make any revisions to your application once it is submitted. You should also be aware that failure to answer Regulatory Questions honestly may result in denial or licensure, or disciplinary action if the license is issued.

Permalink 2 0

What is the “Affirm, Pay, & Submit” section of the application?

You will type your electronic signature into the area indicated as your affirmation that the information submitted in your application is true and accurate. You must also submit electronic payment information via credit or debit card for the Application Fee ($85), Transaction Fee ($3.50), and Temporary Permit ($50) (if requested).

Permalink 5 0


VIDEO: EXAM APPLICATION PROCESS


EXAM APPLICATION

For information about what is required on the application, see the Applicant for Licensure by Exam – General Questions & Applicant for Licensure by Exam – Application Questions.

Access the Application for Licensure by Examination

Exam Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist

Applicant for Licensure by Exam – Application Questions

Applicant for Licensure by Exam – Application Questions

What information do I have to provide on the application?

You will have to answer questions in the following categories: License Type; Education; Exam & Temp Permit; Regulatory Questions; Preview; and Affirm, Pay & Submit.

Permalink 6 0

What specific information am I expected to provide in the License Type section of the application?

  • You will have to select the type of license for which you are applying, RN or LPN.
  • You will have to answer a question regarding citizenship.
  • You must provide your Social Security Number.
  • You will enter identifying information here as well, such as your name, address, birth date, gender, and email address.

Permalink 3 0

Why does the application ask about my citizenship?

Alabama law requires verification of citizenship or legal presence in the US.
For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

Permalink 3 0

What if the name I use doesn’t match my identification? OR What if I have plans to get married after I graduate and possibly before I am scheduled to test?

Very Important Information Regarding Name:

  1. The FIRST & LAST names that you list on your application must MATCH EXACTLY to the identification you plan to use when you present to take the NCLEX®.
    • For more information on identification requirements for NCLEX®, click here.
  2. The name that you list on the application will be the name under which you are licensed. The name you list will also be used for your Pearson Vue registration and should match the picture ID used to test at the testing center.
  3. Pearson Vue Registration: The SSN is not a mandatory field to register with Pearson Vue. However, the ABN requires that you submit this information to Pearson Vue. You will not be issued a license by the ABN until you provide a SSN.

Permalink 3 1

Do I have to know my school’s Program Code to apply?

The application requires you to identify the nursing program from where you graduated. Programs in the US have the NCLEX® Program Codes readily available for you to choose from in the application. You will have to identify the degree or certificate awarded upon completion of your nursing program. You must also include your graduation date.

Applicants educated outside the US, please refer to the Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs.

Permalink 4 0

What do I need to have my Nursing Program submit to the Board?

An official transcript must be received in a sealed envelope from your school. The graduation date you list on your application must match the graduation date on the transcript.

Permalink 3 0

How do I get a Temporary Permit?

You may request a Temporary Permit when you apply if this is your first time applying for Licensure by Examination (in any jurisdiction). Although there is an area on the application where you may list your employer, you do not have to list an employer to be eligible for a permit. However, a Temporary Permit will not be issued until a complete application has been submitted to the Board, including citizenship/legal presence documentation, official transcript, and supporting documentation for any affirmative responses to regulatory questions. You should also know that a Temporary Permit may or may not be issued due to an affirmative response to any regulatory question. Depending on your individual circumstances and anticipated disclosure(s), you may wish to carefully consider requesting and paying for a Temporary Permit. FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

For more information about activities permitted with a Temporary Permit, please see the Temporary Permit FAQs.

Permalink 1 0

What are Regulatory Questions?

These are questions that aid the Board in determining the applicant’s “good moral character” as required by law. An affirmative response does not preclude an individual from licensure and applicants are expected to read the questions carefully and answer honestly. As a matter-of-fact, many persons are licensed each year who provide affirmative responses to one or more of the regulatory questions. The regulatory questions ask about your past history in the following areas: Criminal History, Substance Use, Physical or Mental Health, Discipline or Investigations of Other Licenses or Professions, and Military Discharge.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 2 0

What documentation will I have to submit if I have to answer “Yes” to a Regulatory Question?

You must submit a detailed written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the event(s) which you are disclosing on your application. You must also submit additional supporting documentation. Examples of supporting documentation include: Case Action Summary for criminal activity; Admission & Discharge Summary for previous substance use or mental health treatment; Military DD214.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 2 0

What is the “Preview” section of the application?

This is where you may review all information submitted on the application for accuracy. You should return to previous screens to make revisions before submitting your application. You will not be able to make any revisions to your application once it is submitted. You should also be aware that failure to answer Regulatory Questions honestly may result in denial or licensure, or disciplinary action if the license is issued.

Permalink 2 0

What is the “Affirm, Pay, & Submit” section of the application?

You will type your electronic signature into the area indicated as your affirmation that the information submitted in your application is true and accurate. You must also submit electronic payment information via credit or debit card for the Application Fee ($85), Transaction Fee ($3.50), and Temporary Permit ($50) (if requested).

Permalink 5 0

Applicant for Licensure by Exam - General Questions

Licensure by Endorsement - General Questions

How long does it take to get a license?

There is no timetable for issuing licenses. A license will only be issued when all requirements are completed. Applications are processed on a first-in, first-out basis.

Permalink 5 34

How much does it cost?

The costs are: Application Fee ($85), Transaction Fee ($3.50), and Temporary Permit ($50).

Permalink 2 2

How do I pay?

Payment is accepted electronically via credit or debit card in the online application which may be found here.

Permalink 1 0

May I get a refund?

No. FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE per Alabama law, even if your permanent Alabama nursing license is issued prior to the Temporary Permit, you are deemed ineligible for a Temporary Permit, or you withdraw your application.

Permalink 1 0

How long do I have to complete the application process?

Your application and fees will remain active for one year. You would be able to complete the endorsement process at any time within that period.

Permalink 2 0

Do I need to endorse if I had an Alabama license in the past?

It depends on the type of license to which you are referring. If you have ever held an Alabama LPN or RN license but did not keep it current, then the status is Lapsed and you should reinstate it.

For further information see the Reinstatement Lapsed License FAQs.

Permalink 1 0

What if I had an LPN license in Alabama but now I’m an RN in another state?

You must apply for RN licensure by endorsement in order to become licensed as an RN in Alabama.

Permalink 2 0

May I apply for an LPN license in Alabama based on LPN licensure in another state that allowed me to take NCLEX-PN® because I partially completed an RN program?

No. In order to apply for LPN licensure by endorsement, you must have graduated or successfully completed an approved practical nursing program in Alabama, or an approved practical nursing program located in another state or territory that substantially meets the same educational criteria as Alabama programs.

Permalink 2 0

Will my license or other correspondence from the ABN be forwarded?

Most of the Board’s mail is not forwarded, due to the nature of the contents.  Please be sure to keep your address up to date with the Board office.  There is a $25 fee to resend mail that is returned to the Board office.

Permalink 1 0

How may I check the status of my application?

The endorsement status check provides you with a checklist of items that the Board is still waiting to receive.  Once the license is issued, you will be directed to the “License Look-Up” section of the Board’s website. You may check the status of your application here.

Permalink 5 1

How may I verify that my license has been issued?

You may view licensure information under the License Lookup section of the Board’s website here.

Permalink 1 0

How long is the license period once it is issued?

The license period is for two years based upon the renewal cycle of the license. LPN renewal is every ODD numbered year and RN renewal is every EVEN numbered year. Thus, a license issued prior to August 31 will expire December 31 of that same year if it is a renewal year for that license type. For example, an RN license issued 08/31/2017 will expire 12/31/2018; whereas an LPN license issued 08/31/2017 will not expire until 12/31/2017. (Renewal begins September 1 each year.)

Permalink 1 1

Am I eligible for licensure by Endorsement if I am an Excelsior graduate?

Since your nursing education program (Regents/Excelsior) did not include clinical experience, you would have to supply a copy of your LPN transcript and detailed work experience as a nurse (both LPN and RN) after you submit the application and fee for licensure. The Board is looking for evidence of concurrent theory and practice in “adult, maternal-child, and psychiatric nursing,” as required by the ABN Administrative Code. Each applicant is reviewed individually.  We do not prescreen, so we cannot tell in advance whether you will meet the requirements or not.

You should also refer to the following declaratory rulings regarding Excelsior graduates:

RONNIE DALE ENGLAND, JR.

ELIZABETH JANE BEARD ZWAGIL

BONNIE KEMBLE

STEPHEN BRANT EBERHART

Permalink 7 5


EXAM: PEARSON VUE REGISTRATION

Although Pearson Vue will allow registration for the NCLEX® without your submitting a middle name or Social Security Number (SSN), the ABN requires you to submit this information to Pearson Vue to ensure accurate processing. The name on the ID you will use for testing should match your ABN and Pearson Vue registration.

You may register with Pearson Vue here.


GRADUATES OF FOREIGN NURSING SCHOOLS
  1. You must complete the following two items prior to submitting an Application for Licensure by Examination:
    1. Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Certification Program (CP). The CP includes the CGFNS Qualifying Exam and demonstration of passing one of the accepted English language proficiency exams.
    2. Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) Professional Report. The CES Professional Report includes a detailed analysis of credentials earned at multiple levels of nursing education received outside of the U.S. according to a specific state’s requirements.
  2. Be a graduate of a nursing education program approved by the proper authorities in the country where the program is located.
  3. Meet the requirements for nursing program content employed as criteria for approval in Alabama at the time of the applicant’s graduation.
  4. You must meet all basic requirements for licensure except transcript submission.

For more information, see Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs.

Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs

Foreign Nursing Program Graduates

What do I have to do to get a nursing license in Alabama if I attended a Foreign Nursing Program?

You must meet the same requirements as all other applicants, in addition to requirements specific to graduates of Foreign Nursing Programs.

Permalink 4 1

What are the basic requirements of all other applicants?

  1. You must be a high school graduate, or equivalent.
  2. You must have a valid Social Security Number (SSN).
  3. You must be a citizen or legal US resident. See the Citizenship/Legal Presence FAQs for further information.
  4. You must demonstrate good moral character.
  5. You must have graduated from a nursing program (RN or PN) which substantially meets the same educational criteria as Alabama nursing programs.
  6. You must submit a complete application. For information about what is required on the application, see the Exam to Licensure: General Frequently Asked Questions & Exam to Licensure: Application Frequently Asked Questions.

Permalink 1 0

What do I have to do if I want to apply for Licensure by Exam if I am a graduate of a Foreign Nursing Program?

  1. 1. You must complete the following two items prior to submitting an Application for Licensure by Examination:
    • Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Certification Program (CP). The CP includes the CGFNS Qualifying Exam and demonstration of passing one of the accepted English language proficiency exams.
    • Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) Professional Report. The CES Professional Report includes a detailed analysis of credentials earned at multiple levels of nursing education received outside of the U.S. according to a specific state’s requirements.
  2. Be a graduate of a nursing education program approved by the proper authorities in the country where the program is located.
  3. Meet the requirements for nursing program content employed as criteria for approval in Alabama at the time of the applicant’s graduation.
  4. Make up any educational deficiencies.

Permalink 1 0

What do I have to do if I am applying for Licensure by Endorsement if I am a graduate of a Foreign Nursing Program?

  1. You must submit a Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) Professional Report.
    • The CES Professional Report includes the following: a detailed analysis of credentials earned at multiple levels of nursing education received outside of the U.S. according to a specific state’s requirements.
      • The CES Professional Report is not a substitute for the CGFNS Certification Program, which is typically completed prior to receiving the first U.S. state nursing license.
    • Be a graduate of a nursing education program approved by the proper authorities in the country where the program is located.
  2. Meet the requirements for nursing program content employed as criteria for approval in Alabama at the time of the applicant’s graduation.
  3. Make up any educational deficiencies.
  4. Pass the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX®) if you have not already done so.

Permalink 2 0

Do I really have to do all of this if I have already been licensed in another state in the US?

Yes. You must meet all of the requirements for licensure in Alabama in order to be issued an Alabama nursing license.

Permalink 1 0


EXAM: ONLINE TEST RESULTS

Results are updated once each business day by 9 am and will only be available in this system for 30 days after your test date. Please allow 24 – 48 hours from the time you complete the exam for your results to be available in the system.

Online test results are available here.


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Citizenship/Legal Presence

Citizenship/Legal Presence

Why do I have to prove my citizenship when I was born in the US?

The Alabama Immigration Law requires that in order to issue or renew a license, each applicant or licensed nurse is required to submit proof of citizenship or legal presence at least once.
Submit the appropriate checklist and copies of appropriate documents via email, fax, or mail. Contact information is on the form.

Permalink 2 0

Do I have to do this for every renewal?

  • Citizens are only required to be verified once.
  • Non-citizens with a permanent resident card are only required to submit proof one time.
  • Non-citizens with other documents are required to submit proof at time of original licensure and at each renewal.

Permalink 1 0

Do I have to submit this even though I was originally licensed a very long time ago and am reinstating my license?

Yes. The Alabama Immigration Law requires that a licensed nurse is required to submit proof of citizenship or legal presence at least once if she or he is a citizen or non-citizen with a permanent residence card. Non-citizens with other documents must submit documentation at each renewal.

Permalink 1 0

What do I need to do to comply with the citizenship/legal presence requirement?

You must complete the appropriate form for your specific situation and submit the completed form and supporting documentation to the Board.

Exam Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Endorsement Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Reinstatement Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Already Licensed in Alabama Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist

Permalink 3 0

How do I submit my citizenship or legal presence documentation?

There is contact information on the form. Forms may be submitted by email (preferred), mail, fax, or in person at the Board office. For example, a nurse or applicant, who is a US Citizen, may complete the form and take a photo of the form with the person’s Driver’s License in view on the form and email the photo to the email address on the citizenship form.

Permalink 8 0

Licensure by Exam – Application Questions

Applicant for Licensure by Exam – Application Questions

What information do I have to provide on the application?

You will have to answer questions in the following categories: License Type; Education; Exam & Temp Permit; Regulatory Questions; Preview; and Affirm, Pay & Submit.

Permalink 6 0

What specific information am I expected to provide in the License Type section of the application?

  • You will have to select the type of license for which you are applying, RN or LPN.
  • You will have to answer a question regarding citizenship.
  • You must provide your Social Security Number.
  • You will enter identifying information here as well, such as your name, address, birth date, gender, and email address.

Permalink 3 0

Why does the application ask about my citizenship?

Alabama law requires verification of citizenship or legal presence in the US.
For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

Permalink 3 0

What if the name I use doesn’t match my identification? OR What if I have plans to get married after I graduate and possibly before I am scheduled to test?

Very Important Information Regarding Name:

  1. The FIRST & LAST names that you list on your application must MATCH EXACTLY to the identification you plan to use when you present to take the NCLEX®.
    • For more information on identification requirements for NCLEX®, click here.
  2. The name that you list on the application will be the name under which you are licensed. The name you list will also be used for your Pearson Vue registration and should match the picture ID used to test at the testing center.
  3. Pearson Vue Registration: The SSN is not a mandatory field to register with Pearson Vue. However, the ABN requires that you submit this information to Pearson Vue. You will not be issued a license by the ABN until you provide a SSN.

Permalink 3 1

Do I have to know my school’s Program Code to apply?

The application requires you to identify the nursing program from where you graduated. Programs in the US have the NCLEX® Program Codes readily available for you to choose from in the application. You will have to identify the degree or certificate awarded upon completion of your nursing program. You must also include your graduation date.

Applicants educated outside the US, please refer to the Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs.

Permalink 4 0

What do I need to have my Nursing Program submit to the Board?

An official transcript must be received in a sealed envelope from your school. The graduation date you list on your application must match the graduation date on the transcript.

Permalink 3 0

How do I get a Temporary Permit?

You may request a Temporary Permit when you apply if this is your first time applying for Licensure by Examination (in any jurisdiction). Although there is an area on the application where you may list your employer, you do not have to list an employer to be eligible for a permit. However, a Temporary Permit will not be issued until a complete application has been submitted to the Board, including citizenship/legal presence documentation, official transcript, and supporting documentation for any affirmative responses to regulatory questions. You should also know that a Temporary Permit may or may not be issued due to an affirmative response to any regulatory question. Depending on your individual circumstances and anticipated disclosure(s), you may wish to carefully consider requesting and paying for a Temporary Permit. FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

For more information about activities permitted with a Temporary Permit, please see the Temporary Permit FAQs.

Permalink 1 0

What are Regulatory Questions?

These are questions that aid the Board in determining the applicant’s “good moral character” as required by law. An affirmative response does not preclude an individual from licensure and applicants are expected to read the questions carefully and answer honestly. As a matter-of-fact, many persons are licensed each year who provide affirmative responses to one or more of the regulatory questions. The regulatory questions ask about your past history in the following areas: Criminal History, Substance Use, Physical or Mental Health, Discipline or Investigations of Other Licenses or Professions, and Military Discharge.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 2 0

What documentation will I have to submit if I have to answer “Yes” to a Regulatory Question?

You must submit a detailed written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the event(s) which you are disclosing on your application. You must also submit additional supporting documentation. Examples of supporting documentation include: Case Action Summary for criminal activity; Admission & Discharge Summary for previous substance use or mental health treatment; Military DD214.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 2 0

What is the “Preview” section of the application?

This is where you may review all information submitted on the application for accuracy. You should return to previous screens to make revisions before submitting your application. You will not be able to make any revisions to your application once it is submitted. You should also be aware that failure to answer Regulatory Questions honestly may result in denial or licensure, or disciplinary action if the license is issued.

Permalink 2 0

What is the “Affirm, Pay, & Submit” section of the application?

You will type your electronic signature into the area indicated as your affirmation that the information submitted in your application is true and accurate. You must also submit electronic payment information via credit or debit card for the Application Fee ($85), Transaction Fee ($3.50), and Temporary Permit ($50) (if requested).

Permalink 5 0

Foreign Nursing Program Graduates

Foreign Nursing Program Graduates

What do I have to do to get a nursing license in Alabama if I attended a Foreign Nursing Program?

You must meet the same requirements as all other applicants, in addition to requirements specific to graduates of Foreign Nursing Programs.

Permalink 4 1

What are the basic requirements of all other applicants?

  1. You must be a high school graduate, or equivalent.
  2. You must have a valid Social Security Number (SSN).
  3. You must be a citizen or legal US resident. See the Citizenship/Legal Presence FAQs for further information.
  4. You must demonstrate good moral character.
  5. You must have graduated from a nursing program (RN or PN) which substantially meets the same educational criteria as Alabama nursing programs.
  6. You must submit a complete application. For information about what is required on the application, see the Exam to Licensure: General Frequently Asked Questions & Exam to Licensure: Application Frequently Asked Questions.

Permalink 1 0

What do I have to do if I want to apply for Licensure by Exam if I am a graduate of a Foreign Nursing Program?

  1. 1. You must complete the following two items prior to submitting an Application for Licensure by Examination:
    • Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Certification Program (CP). The CP includes the CGFNS Qualifying Exam and demonstration of passing one of the accepted English language proficiency exams.
    • Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) Professional Report. The CES Professional Report includes a detailed analysis of credentials earned at multiple levels of nursing education received outside of the U.S. according to a specific state’s requirements.
  2. Be a graduate of a nursing education program approved by the proper authorities in the country where the program is located.
  3. Meet the requirements for nursing program content employed as criteria for approval in Alabama at the time of the applicant’s graduation.
  4. Make up any educational deficiencies.

Permalink 1 0

What do I have to do if I am applying for Licensure by Endorsement if I am a graduate of a Foreign Nursing Program?

  1. You must submit a Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) Professional Report.
    • The CES Professional Report includes the following: a detailed analysis of credentials earned at multiple levels of nursing education received outside of the U.S. according to a specific state’s requirements.
      • The CES Professional Report is not a substitute for the CGFNS Certification Program, which is typically completed prior to receiving the first U.S. state nursing license.
    • Be a graduate of a nursing education program approved by the proper authorities in the country where the program is located.
  2. Meet the requirements for nursing program content employed as criteria for approval in Alabama at the time of the applicant’s graduation.
  3. Make up any educational deficiencies.
  4. Pass the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX®) if you have not already done so.

Permalink 2 0

Do I really have to do all of this if I have already been licensed in another state in the US?

Yes. You must meet all of the requirements for licensure in Alabama in order to be issued an Alabama nursing license.

Permalink 1 0

Licensure by Exam – Temporary Permits

Temporary Permit

What can a nursing graduate do in a facility/agency until he/she receives a temporary permit?

To provide nursing care in Alabama, a nursing license is required. A first-time applicant for licensure in Alabama, including the nursing graduate, may request a nonrenewable temporary permit to practice nursing. The non-renewable temporary permit allows the graduate to practice as a Nursing Graduate-PN Program (NG-PNP) or Nursing Graduate- RN Program (NG-RNP) with stipulations.

Prior to the receipt of the temporary permit, the nursing graduate cannot work in an employment classification that requires a nursing license, including participation in nursing orientation. The graduate without a temporary permit or license must be classified as unlicensed and must follow the policies and procedures for unlicensed personnel in the agency/facility. Nursing procedures and activities that are permitted in the nursing education program under the direct supervision of nursing faculty are not allowed in the work place for unlicensed personnel.

The regulation answering this question is found in the Alabama Board of Nursing Administrative Code, chapter 610- X-4-.07 which states

  1. A first-time applicant for licensure in Alabama may request a nonrenewable temporary permit to practice nursing.
  2. The temporary permit is valid for a period determined by the Board.
  3. The temporary permit allows the applicant for licensure by examination to practice as a Nursing Graduate-PN
    Program (NG-PNP) or Nursing Graduate-RN Program (NG-RNP), subject to the following stipulations:

    • a. The Nursing Graduate must function under direct supervision of a currently licensed registered nurse.
    • b. The Nursing Graduate shall not assume nor be assigned charge responsibilities.
  4. A temporary permit shall expire:
    • a. If the applicant fails the licensing examination.
    • b. At the time designated on the permit.
    • c. Once a license is issued.
    • d. If the applicant is denied licensure.
  5. The applicant for licensure shall:
    • a. Provide every employer the temporary permit for visual inspection.
    • b. Provide to an employer validation of a current license upon receipt of the official license card.
    • c. Inform the employer of denial of licensure.
    • d. Immediately inform the employer of failure of the licensing examination.

The Board shall issue notice of denial of licensure. Receipt of notice is presumed within five calendar days of mailing.

Permalink 2 0

What can a nursing graduate do in a facility/agency with a temporary permit?

As defined in the Alabama Board of Nursing Administrative Code, chapter 610-X-4-.07(3), the stipulations that impact the nursing graduate with a temporary permit include:

  • The Nursing Graduate must function under direct supervision of a currently licensed registered nurse. The licensed registered nurse must be physically present in facility and readily accessible to designate or prescribe a course of action or to give procedural guidance, direction, and periodic evaluation.
  • The Nursing Graduate shall not assume nor be assigned charge responsibilities.

Direct Supervision is defined in the Alabama Board of Nursing Administrative Code, chapter 610-X-2-.04(4) as: “licensed registered nurse physically present in facility and readily accessible to designate or prescribe a course of action or to give procedural guidance, direction, and periodic evaluation.”

Permalink 5 0

General Questions

Applicant for Licensure by Exam - General Questions

If my school is not approved and accredited, can I apply for licensure by examination with the State of Alabama?

No. Your school must be approved and accredited before you may apply for licensure by examination.

Permalink 3 0

Do I have to have a Social Security Number to apply for licensure by examination?

A Social Security number is not required to process an application. However, The ABN will not issue a license until a copy of your social security card has been received by the ABN.

Permalink 1 0

Does my application have to be notarized?

No. Your typed electronic signature on the application affirms that the information you provided on the application is accurate and true.

Permalink 0 0

What if I took the NCLEX in another state?

  1. You must still be eligible in the State where you originally applied for licensure.
  2. If you have taken the NCLEX in another state:
    • Complete Part I of the Out-of-State Repeat Examination Application Attachment
    • Contact the Board of Nursing where you originally applied for licensure by exam to see if a fee is
      charged for completion of the form.
    • Mail the form to the Board of Nursing where you originally applied for licensure by exam who will submit the form to the ABN.

Permalink 0 0

How can I pay my application fee to the Board?

You may apply and pay online with a debit or credit card here.

Permalink 0 0

How long do I have to submit a complete application?

Your application and fee is retained for up to one year. If the process has not been completed within that time,
a new application and fee must be submitted. FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.

Permalink 0 0

How do I request special accommodations?

Requests for modification of the procedures for administering the examination for candidates with disabilities must be submitted to the Board with the application for licensure and must include an evaluation of the disability by the applicant’s licensed physician or licensed psychologist and a statement from the director of the nursing education program addressing any accommodations made during the nursing education process.

Permalink 0 0

What about a temporary permit?

Questions concerning temporary permit request can be found here.

Permalink 0 0

How do I find out my NCLEX® results?

Examination results, available only from your Board of Nursing, will be mailed to candidates approximately 3-5 days after taking the examination. Results may also be viewed here 24-48 hours after testing. For quality control purposes, every computerized NCLEX® examination is scored twice – once by the computer at the test center and then the result is verified after the examination record has been transmitted to Pearson VUE. Although the examination is scored as the candidate completes each item, NO RESULTS are released at the test center. Do not call your Board of Nursing, NCLEX® candidate services, the Pearson Professional Centers, or NCSBN for examination results.

Permalink 34 24

When can I re-test if I failed NCLEX®?

Exam applicants are eligible to re-test after 45 days.

Permalink 0 7

When do I re-apply if I failed NCLEX®?

Do not reapply for licensure by examination until after you receive your official test results by mail notifying you of failure.

Permalink 1 0

May I apply for LPN licensure by examination in Alabama based on the partial completion of an RN program?

No. Alabama law does not allow for licensure as an LPN based on the partial completion of an RN program.

Permalink 0 0

What should I do to have my Authorization to Test (ATT) issued if there is a delay between submission of my application for licensure to the ABN and registration for NCLEX® with Pearson Vue?

Nothing. When you register for NCLEX® with Pearson Vue, the ABN is typically notified the following business day. If you have not received your ATT within one week, please contact the ABN

Permalink 8 0

Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action

Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action

What type of criminal history should be reported on the application?

All arrests and convictions should be reported. This includes cases which were ultimately dismissed. It includes cases which were resolved by a guilty plea, nolo contendre plea, a trial, or by some type of deferred prosecution. Felonies and misdemeanors should be reported. Minor traffic violations do not need to be reported. DUI is not a minor traffic violation.

Permalink 2 6

Can a person obtain a license as a nurse with a misdemeanor or felony conviction?

Each applicant is evaluated on a case by case basis. The Board of Nursing considers the nature, severity, and date of the offense, as well as rehabilitative efforts and other factors. The Board cannot make a determination for approval or denial of licensure until the entire application and supporting documentation is received and reviewed.

Permalink 10 9

Do I have to report criminal charges if I completed a period of probation and the charges were dismissed or the case was closed?

Yes. Offenses must be reported to the Board even if you received a suspended imposition of sentence and the record is now considered closed. The arrest is still on your record and must be reported.

Permalink 0 0

How can I help facilitate a speedy review of my application?

The Board of Nursing strongly encourages all individuals with a criminal or disciplinary history to be fully prepared with information regarding their background and to start the application process as soon as you can.

Permalink 0 1

What must be reported concerning discipline by another state Board of Nursing?

All prior or current disciplinary action against another professional license must be reported, whether it occurred in Alabama or in another state or territory. If RN to LPN where there was discipline by this Board against the LPN license, this should also be reported.

Permalink 0 0

Will it help to call and check on the status of my application?

It may take additional time to process an application containing a “yes” answer. You will be notified if further information is required. Please do not call Board of Nursing office as such only serves to delay the process.

Permalink 0 0

Can I obtain a temporary permit if I have a “yes” answer to a regulatory question on the application?

If your application can be cleared without discipline, you will be issued a temporary permit, if otherwise eligible. If your application cannot be cleared without discipline, you will not be issued a temporary permit. Your case will be presented to the Board and, if your application is approved, you will be made eligible to sit for the exam.

Permalink 0 4

What type of documentation do I need to submit in support of my application if I have a prior criminal record or license discipline?

You should submit:

  • Certified official court document(s) relative to your criminal record, showing the date(s) and circumstance(s) surrounding your arrest(s)/conviction(s), sections of the law violated, and disposition of the case. This would normally consist of the charging document (Complaint or Indictment), and the Case Action Summary or other documents showing the final disposition of your case. If placed on probation, you should also include the Order of Probation and official documentation of completion of the probationary period. The court clerk must certify these court documents.
  • Certified copy of the documents relative to any disciplinary action taken against any license by another state board of nursing. The documents must come from the agency that took the disciplinary action and must be certified by that agency. If previously disciplined by the Alabama Board of Nursing, you should state the action taken against you.
  • A detailed description of the circumstances surrounding your criminal record or disciplinary action and a thorough description of the rehabilitative changes in your lifestyle since the time of the offense or disciplinary action which would enable you to avoid future occurrences. It would be helpful to include factors in your lifestyle which you feel may have contributed to your crime or disciplinary action, what you have learned about yourself since that time, and the changes you have made that support your rehabilitation.

Note: The burden of proof lies with the applicant to demonstrate evidence of rehabilitation. Examples of rehabilitation evidence include, but are not limited to:

  • If applicable to your crime or discipline, documented evidence of professional treatment and counseling you may have completed. Please provide admission and discharge summaries if treatment received.
  • Letters of reference, on official letterhead, from: employers, nursing program administrators, nursing instructors, health professionals, professional counselors, support group sponsors, parole or probation officers, or other individuals in positions of authority who are knowledgeable about your rehabilitation efforts.
  • Proof of community work, education, and/or self-improvement efforts.

Court-issued certificate of rehabilitation or evidence of expungement, proof of compliance with criminal probation or parole, and orders of the court.

Permalink 7 0

ENDORSEMENT: BASIC REQUIREMENTS
REQUIREMENT INFORMATION
ELECTRONIC APPLICATION You must submit a complete application. For information about what is required on the application, see the Licensure by Endorsement FAQs (below).

Note: The application for licensure as a nurse in the state of Alabama is intended for completion only by the individual applying for licensure and should not be completed by any third party on behalf of the applicant. The application requires an attestation by the applicant as to the accuracy and completeness of the information to the Alabama Board of Nursing. Please note that any applicant or licensee of the Board who provides incomplete or inaccurate information on an application is subject to discipline against his or her license.

APPLICATION FEE(S):
Electronic payment via credit or debit card
  • Application: $85
  • Temporary Permit: $50
  • Transaction Fee: $3.50
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (SSN) You must have a valid Social Security Number. You will not be able to complete the application without submitting your SSN.
CITIZENSHIP/LEGAL PRESENCE:
You must be a citizen or legal US resident
For information on meeting this requirement, please refer to the Citizenship/Legal Presence FAQs (below). You must complete and submit the appropriate form and supporting documentation to the Board.

Endorsement Applicants:

NURSING PROGRAM GRADUATION You must have graduated from a nursing program (RN or PN) which substantially meets the same educational criteria as Alabama nursing programs.
NURSING PROGRAM TRANSCRIPT You must request your nursing program to submit an official transcript to the ABN in a sealed envelope. Faxed transcripts are not accepted.
CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) You must submit documentation of having earned twenty-four (24) contact hours of CE within the past twenty-four (24) months.
VERIFICATION:
You must request a verification of licensure from your original state of licensure to be sent to the ABN.
  • Nursys®: Many (but not all) State Boards of Nursing verify licensure through Nursys®. Please visit Nursys® first, to determine whether your original state of licensure participates in this verification service. If so, follow the Nursys® instructions for requesting verification.
  • Request for Verification of Nursing License for Endorsement into Alabama: This form should only be used to request verification if the state of original licensure does not participate in Nursys®.

Please do not submit any supporting documentation (verification, transcript, CE, or citizenship) prior to completing the electronic application and fee payment.
 

Citizenship/Legal Presence FAQs

Citizenship/Legal Presence

Why do I have to prove my citizenship when I was born in the US?

The Alabama Immigration Law requires that in order to issue or renew a license, each applicant or licensed nurse is required to submit proof of citizenship or legal presence at least once.
Submit the appropriate checklist and copies of appropriate documents via email, fax, or mail. Contact information is on the form.

Permalink 2 0

Do I have to do this for every renewal?

  • Citizens are only required to be verified once.
  • Non-citizens with a permanent resident card are only required to submit proof one time.
  • Non-citizens with other documents are required to submit proof at time of original licensure and at each renewal.

Permalink 1 0

Do I have to submit this even though I was originally licensed a very long time ago and am reinstating my license?

Yes. The Alabama Immigration Law requires that a licensed nurse is required to submit proof of citizenship or legal presence at least once if she or he is a citizen or non-citizen with a permanent residence card. Non-citizens with other documents must submit documentation at each renewal.

Permalink 1 0

What do I need to do to comply with the citizenship/legal presence requirement?

You must complete the appropriate form for your specific situation and submit the completed form and supporting documentation to the Board.

Exam Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Endorsement Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Reinstatement Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Already Licensed in Alabama Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist

Permalink 3 0

How do I submit my citizenship or legal presence documentation?

There is contact information on the form. Forms may be submitted by email (preferred), mail, fax, or in person at the Board office. For example, a nurse or applicant, who is a US Citizen, may complete the form and take a photo of the form with the person’s Driver’s License in view on the form and email the photo to the email address on the citizenship form.

Permalink 8 0

Licensure by Endorsement FAQs

Licensure by Endorsement - Application Questions

May I have someone else complete the online application for me?

It is the applicant’s responsibility to complete the Endorsement Application.

Permalink 0 0

What information do I have to provide on the application?

You will have to answer questions in the following categories: License Type; Education; Temporary & Original License; Regulatory Questions; Preview; and Affirm, Pay & Submit.

Permalink 5 0

What specific information am I expected to provide in the License Type section of the application?

  • You will be asked if you have ever had an LPN or RN license in Alabama.
  • You will have to select the type of license for which you are applying, RN or LPN.
  • You will have to answer a question regarding citizenship and provide your Social Security Number.
  • You will have to answer a question about graduation from an approved and accredited nursing program.
  • You will enter identifying information, such as your name, address, birthdate, gender, and email address.

Permalink 1 0

Why does the application ask about my citizenship?

Alabama law requires verification of citizenship or legal presence in the US.

For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

May I apply for licensure by endorsement if my school is not accredited?

No. Alabama law requires graduation from a program accredited by an accrediting body recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

Permalink 0 0

What name(s) am I expected to provide on my application?

The first, middle, & last name that you list on the application will be the name under which you are licensed. There is no option to select use of the maiden name in lieu of the middle name on the application. You may list your maiden name in the appointed section of the application. If you use your maiden name as your maiden name you may list it twice.

Permalink 0 0

What types of questions are in the Education section of the application?

The application requires you to identify the nursing program from where you graduated. Programs in the US have the NCLEX® Program Codes readily available for you to choose from in the application. You will have to identify the degree or certificate awarded upon completion of your nursing program. You must also include your graduation date. If your nursing program is closed, you are able to continue the application.

Applicants educated outside the US, please refer to the Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

How do I get a Temporary Permit?

You may request a Temporary Permit when you apply if this is your first time applying for Licensure by Endorsement. Prior to having a Temporary Permit issued you must do the following:

  1. Submit a notarized copy of your current nursing license.
  2. Submit Citizenship/Legal Presence documentation. For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

For further information see the Temporary Permit-Endorsement FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

What information do I list about previous licensure?

You must submit information regarding the following:

  1. State and License # of original licensure.
  2. State and License # of other licensure.
  3. Suspension or Revocation of any license. An affirmative response will result in an inability to continue with the application. Failure to accurately disclose information regarding other action on other license may result in denial of, or disciplinary action of, your Alabama license.

Permalink 0 0

What are Regulatory Questions?

These are questions that aid the Board in determining the applicant’s “good moral character” as required by law. The regulatory questions ask about your past history in the following areas: Criminal History, Substance Use, Physical or Mental Health, Discipline or Investigations of Other Licenses or Professions, and Military Discharge. Affirmative responses do not preclude an individual from licensure, but do prevent issuance of a Temporary Permit. Applicants are expected to read the questions carefully and answer honestly. Many persons are licensed each year who provide affirmative responses to one or more of the regulatory questions.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

What documentation will I have to submit if I have to answer “Yes” to a Regulatory Question?

You must submit a detailed written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the event(s) which you are disclosing on your application. You must also submit additional supporting documentation. Examples of supporting documentation include: Case Action Summary for criminal activity; Admission & Discharge Summary for previous substance use or mental health treatment; Military DD214.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

What is the “Preview” section of the application?

This is where you may review all information submitted on the application for accuracy and return to previous screens to make revisions before submitting your application. You will not be able to make any revisions to your application once it is submitted. You should also be aware that failure to answer Regulatory Questions honestly may result in denial or licensure, or disciplinary action if the license is issued.

Permalink 1 0

What is the “Affirm, Pay, & Submit” section of the application?

You will type your electronic signature into the area indicated as your affirmation that the information submitted in your application is true and accurate and submit electronic payment information via credit or debit card.

For more information, please see the Endorsement to Licensure: General FAQs.

Permalink 1 0


NURSING EDUCATION INFO
  1. Alabama law requires that you graduate from a practical nursing program to be eligible for an LPN license and graduate from a registered nursing program to be eligible for RN licensure.
  2. Individuals who took the PN exam after partial completion of an RN program and became licensed as an LPN or LVN in another state are not eligible to apply for licensure by endorsement per Alabama law.
  3. Alabama law requires graduation from a program accredited by an accrediting body recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.
  4. Graduates of Regents/Excelsior College: Alabama law requires graduation from a nursing program which substantially meets the same educational criteria as Alabama nursing programs. You may view Board Declaratory Rulings regarding Excelsior graduates here. Applicants are not pre-screened for licensure eligibility.

ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION

A permanent Alabama nursing license will not be issued until applicants have met all licensure requirements.

Access the Application for Licensure by Endorsement

Endorsement Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist

For more information, see Applicant for Licensure by Endorsement FAQs.

Licensure by Endorsement FAQs

Licensure by Endorsement - Application Questions

May I have someone else complete the online application for me?

It is the applicant’s responsibility to complete the Endorsement Application.

Permalink 0 0

What information do I have to provide on the application?

You will have to answer questions in the following categories: License Type; Education; Temporary & Original License; Regulatory Questions; Preview; and Affirm, Pay & Submit.

Permalink 5 0

What specific information am I expected to provide in the License Type section of the application?

  • You will be asked if you have ever had an LPN or RN license in Alabama.
  • You will have to select the type of license for which you are applying, RN or LPN.
  • You will have to answer a question regarding citizenship and provide your Social Security Number.
  • You will have to answer a question about graduation from an approved and accredited nursing program.
  • You will enter identifying information, such as your name, address, birthdate, gender, and email address.

Permalink 1 0

Why does the application ask about my citizenship?

Alabama law requires verification of citizenship or legal presence in the US.

For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

May I apply for licensure by endorsement if my school is not accredited?

No. Alabama law requires graduation from a program accredited by an accrediting body recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

Permalink 0 0

What name(s) am I expected to provide on my application?

The first, middle, & last name that you list on the application will be the name under which you are licensed. There is no option to select use of the maiden name in lieu of the middle name on the application. You may list your maiden name in the appointed section of the application. If you use your maiden name as your maiden name you may list it twice.

Permalink 0 0

What types of questions are in the Education section of the application?

The application requires you to identify the nursing program from where you graduated. Programs in the US have the NCLEX® Program Codes readily available for you to choose from in the application. You will have to identify the degree or certificate awarded upon completion of your nursing program. You must also include your graduation date. If your nursing program is closed, you are able to continue the application.

Applicants educated outside the US, please refer to the Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

How do I get a Temporary Permit?

You may request a Temporary Permit when you apply if this is your first time applying for Licensure by Endorsement. Prior to having a Temporary Permit issued you must do the following:

  1. Submit a notarized copy of your current nursing license.
  2. Submit Citizenship/Legal Presence documentation. For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

For further information see the Temporary Permit-Endorsement FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

What information do I list about previous licensure?

You must submit information regarding the following:

  1. State and License # of original licensure.
  2. State and License # of other licensure.
  3. Suspension or Revocation of any license. An affirmative response will result in an inability to continue with the application. Failure to accurately disclose information regarding other action on other license may result in denial of, or disciplinary action of, your Alabama license.

Permalink 0 0

What are Regulatory Questions?

These are questions that aid the Board in determining the applicant’s “good moral character” as required by law. The regulatory questions ask about your past history in the following areas: Criminal History, Substance Use, Physical or Mental Health, Discipline or Investigations of Other Licenses or Professions, and Military Discharge. Affirmative responses do not preclude an individual from licensure, but do prevent issuance of a Temporary Permit. Applicants are expected to read the questions carefully and answer honestly. Many persons are licensed each year who provide affirmative responses to one or more of the regulatory questions.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

What documentation will I have to submit if I have to answer “Yes” to a Regulatory Question?

You must submit a detailed written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the event(s) which you are disclosing on your application. You must also submit additional supporting documentation. Examples of supporting documentation include: Case Action Summary for criminal activity; Admission & Discharge Summary for previous substance use or mental health treatment; Military DD214.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

What is the “Preview” section of the application?

This is where you may review all information submitted on the application for accuracy and return to previous screens to make revisions before submitting your application. You will not be able to make any revisions to your application once it is submitted. You should also be aware that failure to answer Regulatory Questions honestly may result in denial or licensure, or disciplinary action if the license is issued.

Permalink 1 0

What is the “Affirm, Pay, & Submit” section of the application?

You will type your electronic signature into the area indicated as your affirmation that the information submitted in your application is true and accurate and submit electronic payment information via credit or debit card.

For more information, please see the Endorsement to Licensure: General FAQs.

Permalink 1 0


GRADUATES OF FOREIGN NURSING SCHOOLS

If you have not taken the NCLEX® (or State Boards) you are not eligible for licensure by endorsement.If you have not been issued a permanent license by the state that allowed you to take the NCLEX® (or State Boards) you are not eligible for licensure by endorsement.

Endorsement applicants:

  1. You must meet all Endorsement requirements except transcript submission.
  2. You must submit a Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) Professional Report.
    • The CES Professional Report includes the following: a detailed analysis of credentials earned at multiple levels of nursing education received outside of the U.S. according to a specific state’s requirements.
    • The CES Professional Report is not a substitute for the CGFNS Certification Program, which is typically completed prior to receiving the first U.S. state nursing license.
    • Be a graduate of a nursing education program approved by the proper authorities in the country where the program is located.

For more information, see Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs.

Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs

Foreign Nursing Program Graduates

What do I have to do to get a nursing license in Alabama if I attended a Foreign Nursing Program?

You must meet the same requirements as all other applicants, in addition to requirements specific to graduates of Foreign Nursing Programs.

Permalink 4 1

What are the basic requirements of all other applicants?

  1. You must be a high school graduate, or equivalent.
  2. You must have a valid Social Security Number (SSN).
  3. You must be a citizen or legal US resident. See the Citizenship/Legal Presence FAQs for further information.
  4. You must demonstrate good moral character.
  5. You must have graduated from a nursing program (RN or PN) which substantially meets the same educational criteria as Alabama nursing programs.
  6. You must submit a complete application. For information about what is required on the application, see the Exam to Licensure: General Frequently Asked Questions & Exam to Licensure: Application Frequently Asked Questions.

Permalink 1 0

What do I have to do if I want to apply for Licensure by Exam if I am a graduate of a Foreign Nursing Program?

  1. 1. You must complete the following two items prior to submitting an Application for Licensure by Examination:
    • Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Certification Program (CP). The CP includes the CGFNS Qualifying Exam and demonstration of passing one of the accepted English language proficiency exams.
    • Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) Professional Report. The CES Professional Report includes a detailed analysis of credentials earned at multiple levels of nursing education received outside of the U.S. according to a specific state’s requirements.
  2. Be a graduate of a nursing education program approved by the proper authorities in the country where the program is located.
  3. Meet the requirements for nursing program content employed as criteria for approval in Alabama at the time of the applicant’s graduation.
  4. Make up any educational deficiencies.

Permalink 1 0

What do I have to do if I am applying for Licensure by Endorsement if I am a graduate of a Foreign Nursing Program?

  1. You must submit a Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) Professional Report.
    • The CES Professional Report includes the following: a detailed analysis of credentials earned at multiple levels of nursing education received outside of the U.S. according to a specific state’s requirements.
      • The CES Professional Report is not a substitute for the CGFNS Certification Program, which is typically completed prior to receiving the first U.S. state nursing license.
    • Be a graduate of a nursing education program approved by the proper authorities in the country where the program is located.
  2. Meet the requirements for nursing program content employed as criteria for approval in Alabama at the time of the applicant’s graduation.
  3. Make up any educational deficiencies.
  4. Pass the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX®) if you have not already done so.

Permalink 2 0

Do I really have to do all of this if I have already been licensed in another state in the US?

Yes. You must meet all of the requirements for licensure in Alabama in order to be issued an Alabama nursing license.

Permalink 1 0


ENDORSEMENT: CHECK APPLICATION STATUS

You may see items pending prior to issuance of your permanent license once you have submitted the online application for endorsement.

Check My Application Status.


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Licensure by Endorsement - Application Questions

Licensure by Endorsement - Application Questions

May I have someone else complete the online application for me?

It is the applicant’s responsibility to complete the Endorsement Application.

Permalink 0 0

What information do I have to provide on the application?

You will have to answer questions in the following categories: License Type; Education; Temporary & Original License; Regulatory Questions; Preview; and Affirm, Pay & Submit.

Permalink 5 0

What specific information am I expected to provide in the License Type section of the application?

  • You will be asked if you have ever had an LPN or RN license in Alabama.
  • You will have to select the type of license for which you are applying, RN or LPN.
  • You will have to answer a question regarding citizenship and provide your Social Security Number.
  • You will have to answer a question about graduation from an approved and accredited nursing program.
  • You will enter identifying information, such as your name, address, birthdate, gender, and email address.

Permalink 1 0

Why does the application ask about my citizenship?

Alabama law requires verification of citizenship or legal presence in the US.

For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

May I apply for licensure by endorsement if my school is not accredited?

No. Alabama law requires graduation from a program accredited by an accrediting body recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

Permalink 0 0

What name(s) am I expected to provide on my application?

The first, middle, & last name that you list on the application will be the name under which you are licensed. There is no option to select use of the maiden name in lieu of the middle name on the application. You may list your maiden name in the appointed section of the application. If you use your maiden name as your maiden name you may list it twice.

Permalink 0 0

What types of questions are in the Education section of the application?

The application requires you to identify the nursing program from where you graduated. Programs in the US have the NCLEX® Program Codes readily available for you to choose from in the application. You will have to identify the degree or certificate awarded upon completion of your nursing program. You must also include your graduation date. If your nursing program is closed, you are able to continue the application.

Applicants educated outside the US, please refer to the Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

How do I get a Temporary Permit?

You may request a Temporary Permit when you apply if this is your first time applying for Licensure by Endorsement. Prior to having a Temporary Permit issued you must do the following:

  1. Submit a notarized copy of your current nursing license.
  2. Submit Citizenship/Legal Presence documentation. For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

For further information see the Temporary Permit-Endorsement FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

What information do I list about previous licensure?

You must submit information regarding the following:

  1. State and License # of original licensure.
  2. State and License # of other licensure.
  3. Suspension or Revocation of any license. An affirmative response will result in an inability to continue with the application. Failure to accurately disclose information regarding other action on other license may result in denial of, or disciplinary action of, your Alabama license.

Permalink 0 0

What are Regulatory Questions?

These are questions that aid the Board in determining the applicant’s “good moral character” as required by law. The regulatory questions ask about your past history in the following areas: Criminal History, Substance Use, Physical or Mental Health, Discipline or Investigations of Other Licenses or Professions, and Military Discharge. Affirmative responses do not preclude an individual from licensure, but do prevent issuance of a Temporary Permit. Applicants are expected to read the questions carefully and answer honestly. Many persons are licensed each year who provide affirmative responses to one or more of the regulatory questions.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

What documentation will I have to submit if I have to answer “Yes” to a Regulatory Question?

You must submit a detailed written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the event(s) which you are disclosing on your application. You must also submit additional supporting documentation. Examples of supporting documentation include: Case Action Summary for criminal activity; Admission & Discharge Summary for previous substance use or mental health treatment; Military DD214.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

What is the “Preview” section of the application?

This is where you may review all information submitted on the application for accuracy and return to previous screens to make revisions before submitting your application. You will not be able to make any revisions to your application once it is submitted. You should also be aware that failure to answer Regulatory Questions honestly may result in denial or licensure, or disciplinary action if the license is issued.

Permalink 1 0

What is the “Affirm, Pay, & Submit” section of the application?

You will type your electronic signature into the area indicated as your affirmation that the information submitted in your application is true and accurate and submit electronic payment information via credit or debit card.

For more information, please see the Endorsement to Licensure: General FAQs.

Permalink 1 0

Licensure by Endorsement - General Questions

Licensure by Endorsement - General Questions

How long does it take to get a license?

There is no timetable for issuing licenses. A license will only be issued when all requirements are completed. Applications are processed on a first-in, first-out basis.

Permalink 5 34

How much does it cost?

The costs are: Application Fee ($85), Transaction Fee ($3.50), and Temporary Permit ($50).

Permalink 2 2

How do I pay?

Payment is accepted electronically via credit or debit card in the online application which may be found here.

Permalink 1 0

May I get a refund?

No. FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE per Alabama law, even if your permanent Alabama nursing license is issued prior to the Temporary Permit, you are deemed ineligible for a Temporary Permit, or you withdraw your application.

Permalink 1 0

How long do I have to complete the application process?

Your application and fees will remain active for one year. You would be able to complete the endorsement process at any time within that period.

Permalink 2 0

Do I need to endorse if I had an Alabama license in the past?

It depends on the type of license to which you are referring. If you have ever held an Alabama LPN or RN license but did not keep it current, then the status is Lapsed and you should reinstate it.

For further information see the Reinstatement Lapsed License FAQs.

Permalink 1 0

What if I had an LPN license in Alabama but now I’m an RN in another state?

You must apply for RN licensure by endorsement in order to become licensed as an RN in Alabama.

Permalink 2 0

May I apply for an LPN license in Alabama based on LPN licensure in another state that allowed me to take NCLEX-PN® because I partially completed an RN program?

No. In order to apply for LPN licensure by endorsement, you must have graduated or successfully completed an approved practical nursing program in Alabama, or an approved practical nursing program located in another state or territory that substantially meets the same educational criteria as Alabama programs.

Permalink 2 0

Will my license or other correspondence from the ABN be forwarded?

Most of the Board’s mail is not forwarded, due to the nature of the contents.  Please be sure to keep your address up to date with the Board office.  There is a $25 fee to resend mail that is returned to the Board office.

Permalink 1 0

How may I check the status of my application?

The endorsement status check provides you with a checklist of items that the Board is still waiting to receive.  Once the license is issued, you will be directed to the “License Look-Up” section of the Board’s website. You may check the status of your application here.

Permalink 5 1

How may I verify that my license has been issued?

You may view licensure information under the License Lookup section of the Board’s website here.

Permalink 1 0

How long is the license period once it is issued?

The license period is for two years based upon the renewal cycle of the license. LPN renewal is every ODD numbered year and RN renewal is every EVEN numbered year. Thus, a license issued prior to August 31 will expire December 31 of that same year if it is a renewal year for that license type. For example, an RN license issued 08/31/2017 will expire 12/31/2018; whereas an LPN license issued 08/31/2017 will not expire until 12/31/2017. (Renewal begins September 1 each year.)

Permalink 1 1

Am I eligible for licensure by Endorsement if I am an Excelsior graduate?

Since your nursing education program (Regents/Excelsior) did not include clinical experience, you would have to supply a copy of your LPN transcript and detailed work experience as a nurse (both LPN and RN) after you submit the application and fee for licensure. The Board is looking for evidence of concurrent theory and practice in “adult, maternal-child, and psychiatric nursing,” as required by the ABN Administrative Code. Each applicant is reviewed individually.  We do not prescreen, so we cannot tell in advance whether you will meet the requirements or not.

You should also refer to the following declaratory rulings regarding Excelsior graduates:

RONNIE DALE ENGLAND, JR.

ELIZABETH JANE BEARD ZWAGIL

BONNIE KEMBLE

STEPHEN BRANT EBERHART

Permalink 7 5

Licensure by Endorsement - Continuing Education (CE)

Licensure by Endorsement - Continuing Education (CE)

How do I obtain continuing education (CE)?

We typically accept CE courses that are approved or accredited by any state board of nursing, state nurses association, or national organization such as the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC).  You may search the internet for CE for nurses to locate online providers.

Permalink 2 8

How do I know if the CE is acceptable?

You should check the approval or accreditation statement to see if the CE will be accepted.  The Board does not accept contact hours earned from MEDCEU (www.medceu.com) or its affiliates, i.e. American Medical Education.  College courses are accepted toward the CE requirement if they were completed after obtaining initial licensure as a nurse.

Permalink 1 9

What is the earning period for the contact hours?

Contact hours should be no older than 24 months from the date you apply.

Permalink 0 0

Must I still submit CE if the state from where I am endorsing does not require it?

Yes. All endorsement applicants are required to submit 24 contact hours of continuing education, even if they are coming from a state that does not require CE.

Permalink 0 4

Must I submit CE if I am a new graduate?

Yes. All endorsement applicants, regardless of their date of graduation or date of licensure, are required to submit 24 contact hours of continuing education.

Permalink 0 2

May I use my nursing program college course work as my 24 contact hours of CE?

College courses are accepted toward the CE requirement if they were completed after obtaining initial licensure as a nurse.

Permalink 6 1

Licensure by Endorsement - Transcripts

Licensure by Endorsement - Transcripts

What do I need to have my Nursing Program submit to the Board?

An official transcript must be received in a sealed envelope from your nursing program. A permanent license will not be issued until it is received.

Permalink 0 5

How do I obtain a transcript if my nursing program has closed?

Contact the Board of Nursing in the state where your school was located and inquire who was appointed receivership of the school’s records.

Permalink 0 0

Licensure by Endorsement - Verification

Licensure by Endorsement - Verification

How do I know if I am supposed to request a verification of my original licensure from NURSYS®?

You may check with the Board of Nursing that issued your original nursing license for how that Board processes verification requests. Alternatively, you may check with NURSYS® at www.nursys.com and follow their instructions for requesting verification.

Permalink 0 0

May I have the verification submitted via fax?

No. Only an original verification received directly from your original Board of Nursing is accepted.

Permalink 0 0

Licensure by Endorsement - Temporary Permits

Licensure by Endorsement - Temporary Permits

What if my current state of licensure no longer issues license cards in order to submit a notarized copy of it for issuance of a Temporary Permit?

If the state you are coming from no longer issues license cards with the effective dates, you may submit a notarized copy of the online verification page (which reflects name, license #, status, and effective dates) from the Board of Nursing website for the issuance of the temporary permit.

Permalink 2 0

How long is a Temporary Permit active?

A Temporary Permit is active for ninety (90) days. It is issued one time only, and is not renewable.

Permalink 0 0

May I be issued a Temporary Permit if I have an affirmative response to one of the regulatory questions?

No. A Temporary Permit may not be issued when an affirmative disclosure is made on the Endorsement Application.

Permalink 0 0

May I be issued a Temporary Permit if I don’t have an active license in any jurisdiction?

No. A Temporary Permit may not be issued when the applicant does not have an active license in any jurisdiction.

Permalink 0 0

If I earned CE on my Temporary Permit may I use that toward my next license renewal?

No. CE for renewal must be earned following issuance of the permanent license.

Permalink 0 0


BASIC REQUIREMENTS
  1. You must be a citizen or legal US resident. For information on meeting this requirement, please refer to the Citizenship/Legal Presence FAQs.
  2. You must submit a completed application for reinstatement. ALL applications for reinstatement include:
    • CE: Demonstration of having earned twenty-four (24) hours of CE within the twenty-four (24) month before submitting the application.
    • Fee: Payment of appropriate fee based upon application type.
      Application Type Fee
      Lapsed $225, plus $3.50 transaction fee
      Revoked $750
      Retired
      Within 2 years of retired status After 2 years of retired status
      $575 $225
      Deployed $75
  3. Please do not submit any supporting documentation (transcripts, CE, or citizenship) before the online application and fee have been submitted.

Citizenship/Legal Presence FAQs

Citizenship/Legal Presence

Why do I have to prove my citizenship when I was born in the US?

The Alabama Immigration Law requires that in order to issue or renew a license, each applicant or licensed nurse is required to submit proof of citizenship or legal presence at least once.
Submit the appropriate checklist and copies of appropriate documents via email, fax, or mail. Contact information is on the form.

Permalink 2 0

Do I have to do this for every renewal?

  • Citizens are only required to be verified once.
  • Non-citizens with a permanent resident card are only required to submit proof one time.
  • Non-citizens with other documents are required to submit proof at time of original licensure and at each renewal.

Permalink 1 0

Do I have to submit this even though I was originally licensed a very long time ago and am reinstating my license?

Yes. The Alabama Immigration Law requires that a licensed nurse is required to submit proof of citizenship or legal presence at least once if she or he is a citizen or non-citizen with a permanent residence card. Non-citizens with other documents must submit documentation at each renewal.

Permalink 1 0

What do I need to do to comply with the citizenship/legal presence requirement?

You must complete the appropriate form for your specific situation and submit the completed form and supporting documentation to the Board.

Exam Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Endorsement Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Reinstatement Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Already Licensed in Alabama Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist

Permalink 3 0

How do I submit my citizenship or legal presence documentation?

There is contact information on the form. Forms may be submitted by email (preferred), mail, fax, or in person at the Board office. For example, a nurse or applicant, who is a US Citizen, may complete the form and take a photo of the form with the person’s Driver’s License in view on the form and email the photo to the email address on the citizenship form.

Permalink 8 0


LAPSED

If you previously held an Alabama nursing license and your license is now lapsed, you must apply for and have the license reinstated before returning to work as a nurse in this state.

Access the online application.

Reinstatement Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist

REVOKED

Reinstatement of a revoked nursing license is a disciplinary process. For more information, please refer to Discipline.


RETIRED REACTIVATION

A nurse with a retired license status may return to active nursing practice upon re-issuance of an active license.

Application for Reactivation of Retired License

Reactivation of Retired License FAQs

Reactivation of Retired License

What if I did not renew my license because I retired but now I wish to return to working as a nurse?

First, you should check the status of your license on the License Lookup section of the website. If your license is listed as “Lapsed” you are not eligible to Reactivate a Retired License. Instead, you should complete the Reinstatement of a Lapsed License process. You may find that electronic application here.

Permalink 1 1

What do I have to do “unretire” my nursing license?

In order to reactivate an inactive license with a “Retired” status, the applicant shall pay the required fees and submit 24 contact hours of continuing education (CE) earned within two years of the date of the application.

Permalink 5 0

How much does it cost?

The fee for reactivation of a license with retired status is: $575, if reactivation is within two years of obtaining retired status ($500 reactivation fee plus $75 renewal fee); or $225, if reactivation is after two years of obtaining retired status ($150 reactivation fee plus $75 renewal fee). FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.

Permalink 0 0

Do I have to have any CE to Reactivate my license?

Yes, you must have 24 hours of CE earned within the past 24 months.

Permalink 1 0

If I earn CE in the current CE earning/renewal period to Reactivate my license from Retired Status, may I use that toward the next renewal?

No, you may not use that CE toward the next renewal of your license. You should take care to ensure that those CE hours that you earn in the current renewal period are not present on your Individual CE Record for the next renewal.

Permalink 0 0

What if I have to answer “Yes” to one of the Regulatory Questions?

You should answer the Regulatory Questions honestly and you may be contacted to provide additional documentation regarding your disclosure.

Permalink 0 0


DEPLOYED NURSES

A nurse with a lapsed license may be eligible to renew, without incurring additional financial cost, if the license lapsed while actively deployed.

Requests for an Actively Deployed Application must be made directly to the ABN office.

Actively Deployed FAQs

Deployed Nurses

What do I need to do to have my license Active again if it lapsed while I was deployed?

You must submit a request for an “Actively Deployed Application” with a copy of the military orders which were in place when your license lapsed and no later than six (6) months after discharge from active service or return to inactive military status.

Permalink 0 0

What do I do after I submit my request for an Actively Deployed Application?

Based on the orders you submit, if you are eligible for the Actively Deployed Application, one will be sent to you in the manner you request: email, mail, or fax.

Permalink 0 0

Do I need to have Continuing Education (CE)?

Yes. You will need to demonstrate having earned adequate CE for the renewal of the license had you not been actively deployed. If you did not earn enough CE prior to being actively deployed, you may earn CE while your request for an Actively Deployed Application is considered.

Permalink 0 0

How many CE hours do I need?

Twenty-four (24) hours of CE are required for license renewal.

Note: Nurses licensed during the licensure period (i.e., New Graduates, Endorsements) may have a prorated amount of CE for the first renewal if they were deployed prior to renewing the license for the first time. If you are unsure how much CE you are required to demonstrate, you may request that this information be communicated to you when you submit your request for an Actively Deployed Application.

Permalink 4 0

If I earn CE in the current CE earning/renewal period to have my license reinstated or renewed following being actively deployed, may I use that toward the next renewal?

No, you may not use that CE toward the next renewal of your license. You should take care to ensure that those CE hours that you earn in the current renewal period are not present on your Individual CE Record for the next renewal.

Permalink 0 0

Do I have to pay any extra fees to reinstate my license that lapsed while I was deployed?

No. If you held an active Alabama nursing license and were actively deployed whenever the United States military is engaged in active military operations against any foreign power, your license may be reinstated or renewed without penalty or payment of the reinstatement or late fee.

Permalink 0 0

What if I was an Advanced Practice Nurse (APN) when I was actively deployed and I want to reinstate that approval as well?

First, you must have an active RN license in order to reinstate AP approval. Otherwise, you will have to meet all other requirements to reinstate your AP approval, including Pharmacology CE, and payment of the reinstatement fee.

Permalink 0 0


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Reinstatement of Lapsed License - General

Reinstatement of Lapsed License - General

Will I have to retake the NCLEX before reinstating my license back to the active status?

No, you are not required to retake the NCLEX in order to regain an active status.

Permalink 2 0

What is the reinstatement fee?

The fee for reinstatement is $225 with a $3.50 transaction fee (Total: $228.50).

Permalink 2 0

May I apply for reinstatement of my license online?

Yes, you can complete the application and pay the fee using a credit or debit card here.

Permalink 4 0

Will I need verification of licensure from another state where I’ve been licensed?

No, we do not require verification of licensure from other states for reinstatement.

Permalink 0 0

Do I reinstate or endorse my license to get it back to an active status in Alabama if I’ve also been licensed in other states?

Once you’ve had an Alabama license, you always have an Alabama license. If you did not keep it current, then the status is lapsed and you will need to reinstate it. If, however, you have been licensed in a different category than the one you were licensed in in Alabama, you would need to endorse that license. For example, if you were licensed as an LPN in Alabama and were subsequently licensed as an RN in another state, you would need to endorse your RN license into Alabama. For further information, please refer to the Licensure by Endorsement section.

Permalink 0 0

How long is the license period once it is issued?

The license period is for two years based upon the renewal cycle of the license. LPN renewal is every ODD numbered year and RN renewal is every EVEN numbered year. Thus, a license issued prior to August 31 will expire December 31 of that same year if it is a renewal year for that license type. For example, an RN license issued 08/31/2017 will expire 12/31/2018; whereas an LPN license issued 08/31/2017 will not expire until 12/31/2017. (Renewal begins September 1 each year.)

Permalink 1 0

What are Regulatory Questions?

These are questions that aid the Board in determining the applicant’s “good moral character” as required by law. The regulatory questions ask about your past history in the following areas: Criminal History, Substance Use, Physical or Mental Health, Discipline or Investigations of Other Licenses or Professions, and Military Discharge. Affirmative responses do not preclude an individual from reinstatement of licensure, but may prompt further investigation. Applicants are expected to read the questions carefully and answer honestly.

Many persons are licensed each year who provide affirmative responses to one or more of the regulatory questions.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 1 0

What documentation will I have to submit if I have to answer “Yes” to a Regulatory Question?

You must submit a detailed written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the event(s) which you are disclosing on your application. You must also submit additional supporting documentation. Examples of supporting documentation include: Case Action Summary for criminal activity; Admission & Discharge Summary for previous substance use or mental health treatment; Military DD214.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

Reinstatement of Lapsed License – CE

Reinstatement of Lapsed License – CE

How many CE hours will I need to reinstate my license?

You must have 24 contact hours of CE to have a complete application for reinstatement For further information regarding continuing education, please refer to the Continuing Education section of the Board’s website.

Permalink 1 0

What is the CE earning period for reinstatement?

CE for reinstatement must be earned within the 24 months immediately prior to the date you submit your application. Therefore, it depends on when the reinstatement application is submitted.

Permalink 0 0

What documentation must I submit if some or all of my CE is listed in my Individual CE Record?

CE that was electronically uploaded into your Individual CE Record by an ABNP (Approved ABN Provider) does not require additional documentation to be submitted to the Board. However, if you manually entered CE that you earned from a non-ABNP, you must submit certificates for those hours.

Also, if you earn additional CE from an ABNP after you submit your reinstatement application, please notify the ABN in order to have the newly earned CE reviewed as part of your application.

Permalink 1 1

Must I submit copies of my CE certificates?

Yes. You may upload certificates for CE earned from non-ABNP CE providers directly into your Individual CE Record for review and approval, or you may fax them to (334) 293-5201, “Attention: Reinstatement.”

Permalink 0 0

How do I earn CE?

There are a multitude of ways to earn Nursing CE. An internet search is often a good start. You may also visit the Continuing Education section of the Board’s website or visit the Alabama Nursing Resource Center web page. As a reminder, MEDCEU (the online company) contact hours are not accepted by the ABN.

Permalink 0 0

May I apply for reinstatement before earning the contact hours?

No, you must have the contact hours completed prior to submitting the application. An application submitted with inadequate CE is incomplete.

Permalink 0 0

Do I need to take specific courses in order to reinstate, such as a refresher course or college courses?

No, you are not required to take specific courses. You are only required to have a total of 24 contact hours of CE from approved providers.

Permalink 0 0

Who are approved providers of CE?

Boards of Nursing, many nursing employers, and many nursing organizations are providers of CE. You do not have to earn CE from a provider approved by the ABN in order for the CE to be eligible for the reinstatement application. CE earned from a recognized provider is adequate.

For more information, please see the CE FAQs.

Permalink 2 4

Reinstatement of Lapsed License – Temporary Permit

Reinstatement of Lapsed License – Temporary Permit

May I be issued a temporary permit while I earn CE hours for Reinstatement?

No, a temporary permit is not available for reinstatement applicants.

Permalink 2 0

Reactivation of Retired License

Reactivation of Retired License

What if I did not renew my license because I retired but now I wish to return to working as a nurse?

First, you should check the status of your license on the License Lookup section of the website. If your license is listed as “Lapsed” you are not eligible to Reactivate a Retired License. Instead, you should complete the Reinstatement of a Lapsed License process. You may find that electronic application here.

Permalink 1 1

What do I have to do “unretire” my nursing license?

In order to reactivate an inactive license with a “Retired” status, the applicant shall pay the required fees and submit 24 contact hours of continuing education (CE) earned within two years of the date of the application.

Permalink 5 0

How much does it cost?

The fee for reactivation of a license with retired status is: $575, if reactivation is within two years of obtaining retired status ($500 reactivation fee plus $75 renewal fee); or $225, if reactivation is after two years of obtaining retired status ($150 reactivation fee plus $75 renewal fee). FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.

Permalink 0 0

Do I have to have any CE to Reactivate my license?

Yes, you must have 24 hours of CE earned within the past 24 months.

Permalink 1 0

If I earn CE in the current CE earning/renewal period to Reactivate my license from Retired Status, may I use that toward the next renewal?

No, you may not use that CE toward the next renewal of your license. You should take care to ensure that those CE hours that you earn in the current renewal period are not present on your Individual CE Record for the next renewal.

Permalink 0 0

What if I have to answer “Yes” to one of the Regulatory Questions?

You should answer the Regulatory Questions honestly and you may be contacted to provide additional documentation regarding your disclosure.

Permalink 0 0

Deployed Nurses

Deployed Nurses

What do I need to do to have my license Active again if it lapsed while I was deployed?

You must submit a request for an “Actively Deployed Application” with a copy of the military orders which were in place when your license lapsed and no later than six (6) months after discharge from active service or return to inactive military status.

Permalink 0 0

What do I do after I submit my request for an Actively Deployed Application?

Based on the orders you submit, if you are eligible for the Actively Deployed Application, one will be sent to you in the manner you request: email, mail, or fax.

Permalink 0 0

Do I need to have Continuing Education (CE)?

Yes. You will need to demonstrate having earned adequate CE for the renewal of the license had you not been actively deployed. If you did not earn enough CE prior to being actively deployed, you may earn CE while your request for an Actively Deployed Application is considered.

Permalink 0 0

How many CE hours do I need?

Twenty-four (24) hours of CE are required for license renewal.

Note: Nurses licensed during the licensure period (i.e., New Graduates, Endorsements) may have a prorated amount of CE for the first renewal if they were deployed prior to renewing the license for the first time. If you are unsure how much CE you are required to demonstrate, you may request that this information be communicated to you when you submit your request for an Actively Deployed Application.

Permalink 4 0

If I earn CE in the current CE earning/renewal period to have my license reinstated or renewed following being actively deployed, may I use that toward the next renewal?

No, you may not use that CE toward the next renewal of your license. You should take care to ensure that those CE hours that you earn in the current renewal period are not present on your Individual CE Record for the next renewal.

Permalink 0 0

Do I have to pay any extra fees to reinstate my license that lapsed while I was deployed?

No. If you held an active Alabama nursing license and were actively deployed whenever the United States military is engaged in active military operations against any foreign power, your license may be reinstated or renewed without penalty or payment of the reinstatement or late fee.

Permalink 0 0

What if I was an Advanced Practice Nurse (APN) when I was actively deployed and I want to reinstate that approval as well?

First, you must have an active RN license in order to reinstate AP approval. Otherwise, you will have to meet all other requirements to reinstate your AP approval, including Pharmacology CE, and payment of the reinstatement fee.

Permalink 0 0

LICENSE RENEWAL

2016 RN renewal has ended. If you did not renew your license, your license has lapsed and you now must reinstate it.

2017 LPN renewal begins September 1 through midnight of November 30 and costs $78.50 ($75.00 renewal fee + $3.50 online fee). Late Renewal begins on December 1 and runs until December 31 for an additional fee of $150.00.

Please Note:

  • Your renewal is not complete until you receive a confirmation number.
  • We accept debit and credit cards from American Express, Discover, Mastercard, and Visa. If using a prepaid debit card, be sure to include the $3.50 online fee.
  • The Alabama Board of Nursing is asking you to voluntarily provide information about your employment and educational preparation. No individual data will be reported; your responses will be combined and analyzed with those of other nurses. Your answers are critical to the planning of future nurse workforce needs in the state, as well as essential to project future needs of nurses.


RENEWAL

Nurses must renew their licenses on a two-calendar-year cycle, with licenses for RNs and LPNs renewed in alternating years: all RNs in even years; all LPNs in odd years. The annual renewal period runs from September 1 through November 30, followed by late renewal from December 1 to December 31.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Renewal

May I pay for renewal of my nursing license by check?

The license renewal application is electronic, so electronic payment of renewal fees is by a credit or debit card.

Permalink 54 31

LICENSURE - EXAM

Applicant for Licensure by Exam - General Questions

Applicant for Licensure by Exam - General Questions

If my school is not approved and accredited, can I apply for licensure by examination with the State of Alabama?

No. Your school must be approved and accredited before you may apply for licensure by examination.

Permalink 3 0

Do I have to have a Social Security Number to apply for licensure by examination?

A Social Security number is not required to process an application. However, The ABN will not issue a license until a copy of your social security card has been received by the ABN.

Permalink 1 0

Does my application have to be notarized?

No. Your typed electronic signature on the application affirms that the information you provided on the application is accurate and true.

Permalink 0 0

What if I took the NCLEX in another state?

  1. You must still be eligible in the State where you originally applied for licensure.
  2. If you have taken the NCLEX in another state:
    • Complete Part I of the Out-of-State Repeat Examination Application Attachment
    • Contact the Board of Nursing where you originally applied for licensure by exam to see if a fee is
      charged for completion of the form.
    • Mail the form to the Board of Nursing where you originally applied for licensure by exam who will submit the form to the ABN.

Permalink 0 0

How can I pay my application fee to the Board?

You may apply and pay online with a debit or credit card here.

Permalink 0 0

How long do I have to submit a complete application?

Your application and fee is retained for up to one year. If the process has not been completed within that time,
a new application and fee must be submitted. FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.

Permalink 0 0

How do I request special accommodations?

Requests for modification of the procedures for administering the examination for candidates with disabilities must be submitted to the Board with the application for licensure and must include an evaluation of the disability by the applicant’s licensed physician or licensed psychologist and a statement from the director of the nursing education program addressing any accommodations made during the nursing education process.

Permalink 0 0

What about a temporary permit?

Questions concerning temporary permit request can be found here.

Permalink 0 0

How do I find out my NCLEX® results?

Examination results, available only from your Board of Nursing, will be mailed to candidates approximately 3-5 days after taking the examination. Results may also be viewed here 24-48 hours after testing. For quality control purposes, every computerized NCLEX® examination is scored twice – once by the computer at the test center and then the result is verified after the examination record has been transmitted to Pearson VUE. Although the examination is scored as the candidate completes each item, NO RESULTS are released at the test center. Do not call your Board of Nursing, NCLEX® candidate services, the Pearson Professional Centers, or NCSBN for examination results.

Permalink 34 24

When can I re-test if I failed NCLEX®?

Exam applicants are eligible to re-test after 45 days.

Permalink 0 7

When do I re-apply if I failed NCLEX®?

Do not reapply for licensure by examination until after you receive your official test results by mail notifying you of failure.

Permalink 1 0

May I apply for LPN licensure by examination in Alabama based on the partial completion of an RN program?

No. Alabama law does not allow for licensure as an LPN based on the partial completion of an RN program.

Permalink 0 0

What should I do to have my Authorization to Test (ATT) issued if there is a delay between submission of my application for licensure to the ABN and registration for NCLEX® with Pearson Vue?

Nothing. When you register for NCLEX® with Pearson Vue, the ABN is typically notified the following business day. If you have not received your ATT within one week, please contact the ABN

Permalink 8 0

Applicant for Licensure by Exam – Application Questions

Applicant for Licensure by Exam – Application Questions

What information do I have to provide on the application?

You will have to answer questions in the following categories: License Type; Education; Exam & Temp Permit; Regulatory Questions; Preview; and Affirm, Pay & Submit.

Permalink 6 0

What specific information am I expected to provide in the License Type section of the application?

  • You will have to select the type of license for which you are applying, RN or LPN.
  • You will have to answer a question regarding citizenship.
  • You must provide your Social Security Number.
  • You will enter identifying information here as well, such as your name, address, birth date, gender, and email address.

Permalink 3 0

Why does the application ask about my citizenship?

Alabama law requires verification of citizenship or legal presence in the US.
For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

Permalink 3 0

What if the name I use doesn’t match my identification? OR What if I have plans to get married after I graduate and possibly before I am scheduled to test?

Very Important Information Regarding Name:

  1. The FIRST & LAST names that you list on your application must MATCH EXACTLY to the identification you plan to use when you present to take the NCLEX®.
    • For more information on identification requirements for NCLEX®, click here.
  2. The name that you list on the application will be the name under which you are licensed. The name you list will also be used for your Pearson Vue registration and should match the picture ID used to test at the testing center.
  3. Pearson Vue Registration: The SSN is not a mandatory field to register with Pearson Vue. However, the ABN requires that you submit this information to Pearson Vue. You will not be issued a license by the ABN until you provide a SSN.

Permalink 3 1

Do I have to know my school’s Program Code to apply?

The application requires you to identify the nursing program from where you graduated. Programs in the US have the NCLEX® Program Codes readily available for you to choose from in the application. You will have to identify the degree or certificate awarded upon completion of your nursing program. You must also include your graduation date.

Applicants educated outside the US, please refer to the Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs.

Permalink 4 0

What do I need to have my Nursing Program submit to the Board?

An official transcript must be received in a sealed envelope from your school. The graduation date you list on your application must match the graduation date on the transcript.

Permalink 3 0

How do I get a Temporary Permit?

You may request a Temporary Permit when you apply if this is your first time applying for Licensure by Examination (in any jurisdiction). Although there is an area on the application where you may list your employer, you do not have to list an employer to be eligible for a permit. However, a Temporary Permit will not be issued until a complete application has been submitted to the Board, including citizenship/legal presence documentation, official transcript, and supporting documentation for any affirmative responses to regulatory questions. You should also know that a Temporary Permit may or may not be issued due to an affirmative response to any regulatory question. Depending on your individual circumstances and anticipated disclosure(s), you may wish to carefully consider requesting and paying for a Temporary Permit. FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

For more information about activities permitted with a Temporary Permit, please see the Temporary Permit FAQs.

Permalink 1 0

What are Regulatory Questions?

These are questions that aid the Board in determining the applicant’s “good moral character” as required by law. An affirmative response does not preclude an individual from licensure and applicants are expected to read the questions carefully and answer honestly. As a matter-of-fact, many persons are licensed each year who provide affirmative responses to one or more of the regulatory questions. The regulatory questions ask about your past history in the following areas: Criminal History, Substance Use, Physical or Mental Health, Discipline or Investigations of Other Licenses or Professions, and Military Discharge.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 2 0

What documentation will I have to submit if I have to answer “Yes” to a Regulatory Question?

You must submit a detailed written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the event(s) which you are disclosing on your application. You must also submit additional supporting documentation. Examples of supporting documentation include: Case Action Summary for criminal activity; Admission & Discharge Summary for previous substance use or mental health treatment; Military DD214.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 2 0

What is the “Preview” section of the application?

This is where you may review all information submitted on the application for accuracy. You should return to previous screens to make revisions before submitting your application. You will not be able to make any revisions to your application once it is submitted. You should also be aware that failure to answer Regulatory Questions honestly may result in denial or licensure, or disciplinary action if the license is issued.

Permalink 2 0

What is the “Affirm, Pay, & Submit” section of the application?

You will type your electronic signature into the area indicated as your affirmation that the information submitted in your application is true and accurate. You must also submit electronic payment information via credit or debit card for the Application Fee ($85), Transaction Fee ($3.50), and Temporary Permit ($50) (if requested).

Permalink 5 0

Temporary Permit - Nursing Graduate

Temporary Permit

What can a nursing graduate do in a facility/agency until he/she receives a temporary permit?

To provide nursing care in Alabama, a nursing license is required. A first-time applicant for licensure in Alabama, including the nursing graduate, may request a nonrenewable temporary permit to practice nursing. The non-renewable temporary permit allows the graduate to practice as a Nursing Graduate-PN Program (NG-PNP) or Nursing Graduate- RN Program (NG-RNP) with stipulations.

Prior to the receipt of the temporary permit, the nursing graduate cannot work in an employment classification that requires a nursing license, including participation in nursing orientation. The graduate without a temporary permit or license must be classified as unlicensed and must follow the policies and procedures for unlicensed personnel in the agency/facility. Nursing procedures and activities that are permitted in the nursing education program under the direct supervision of nursing faculty are not allowed in the work place for unlicensed personnel.

The regulation answering this question is found in the Alabama Board of Nursing Administrative Code, chapter 610- X-4-.07 which states

  1. A first-time applicant for licensure in Alabama may request a nonrenewable temporary permit to practice nursing.
  2. The temporary permit is valid for a period determined by the Board.
  3. The temporary permit allows the applicant for licensure by examination to practice as a Nursing Graduate-PN
    Program (NG-PNP) or Nursing Graduate-RN Program (NG-RNP), subject to the following stipulations:

    • a. The Nursing Graduate must function under direct supervision of a currently licensed registered nurse.
    • b. The Nursing Graduate shall not assume nor be assigned charge responsibilities.
  4. A temporary permit shall expire:
    • a. If the applicant fails the licensing examination.
    • b. At the time designated on the permit.
    • c. Once a license is issued.
    • d. If the applicant is denied licensure.
  5. The applicant for licensure shall:
    • a. Provide every employer the temporary permit for visual inspection.
    • b. Provide to an employer validation of a current license upon receipt of the official license card.
    • c. Inform the employer of denial of licensure.
    • d. Immediately inform the employer of failure of the licensing examination.

The Board shall issue notice of denial of licensure. Receipt of notice is presumed within five calendar days of mailing.

Permalink 2 0

What can a nursing graduate do in a facility/agency with a temporary permit?

As defined in the Alabama Board of Nursing Administrative Code, chapter 610-X-4-.07(3), the stipulations that impact the nursing graduate with a temporary permit include:

  • The Nursing Graduate must function under direct supervision of a currently licensed registered nurse. The licensed registered nurse must be physically present in facility and readily accessible to designate or prescribe a course of action or to give procedural guidance, direction, and periodic evaluation.
  • The Nursing Graduate shall not assume nor be assigned charge responsibilities.

Direct Supervision is defined in the Alabama Board of Nursing Administrative Code, chapter 610-X-2-.04(4) as: “licensed registered nurse physically present in facility and readily accessible to designate or prescribe a course of action or to give procedural guidance, direction, and periodic evaluation.”

Permalink 5 0

LICENSURE - ENDORSEMENT

Licensure by Endorsement - Application Questions

Licensure by Endorsement - Application Questions

May I have someone else complete the online application for me?

It is the applicant’s responsibility to complete the Endorsement Application.

Permalink 0 0

What information do I have to provide on the application?

You will have to answer questions in the following categories: License Type; Education; Temporary & Original License; Regulatory Questions; Preview; and Affirm, Pay & Submit.

Permalink 5 0

What specific information am I expected to provide in the License Type section of the application?

  • You will be asked if you have ever had an LPN or RN license in Alabama.
  • You will have to select the type of license for which you are applying, RN or LPN.
  • You will have to answer a question regarding citizenship and provide your Social Security Number.
  • You will have to answer a question about graduation from an approved and accredited nursing program.
  • You will enter identifying information, such as your name, address, birthdate, gender, and email address.

Permalink 1 0

Why does the application ask about my citizenship?

Alabama law requires verification of citizenship or legal presence in the US.

For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

May I apply for licensure by endorsement if my school is not accredited?

No. Alabama law requires graduation from a program accredited by an accrediting body recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

Permalink 0 0

What name(s) am I expected to provide on my application?

The first, middle, & last name that you list on the application will be the name under which you are licensed. There is no option to select use of the maiden name in lieu of the middle name on the application. You may list your maiden name in the appointed section of the application. If you use your maiden name as your maiden name you may list it twice.

Permalink 0 0

What types of questions are in the Education section of the application?

The application requires you to identify the nursing program from where you graduated. Programs in the US have the NCLEX® Program Codes readily available for you to choose from in the application. You will have to identify the degree or certificate awarded upon completion of your nursing program. You must also include your graduation date. If your nursing program is closed, you are able to continue the application.

Applicants educated outside the US, please refer to the Foreign Nursing Program Graduates FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

How do I get a Temporary Permit?

You may request a Temporary Permit when you apply if this is your first time applying for Licensure by Endorsement. Prior to having a Temporary Permit issued you must do the following:

  1. Submit a notarized copy of your current nursing license.
  2. Submit Citizenship/Legal Presence documentation. For further information see the Citizenship FAQs.

For further information see the Temporary Permit-Endorsement FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

What information do I list about previous licensure?

You must submit information regarding the following:

  1. State and License # of original licensure.
  2. State and License # of other licensure.
  3. Suspension or Revocation of any license. An affirmative response will result in an inability to continue with the application. Failure to accurately disclose information regarding other action on other license may result in denial of, or disciplinary action of, your Alabama license.

Permalink 0 0

What are Regulatory Questions?

These are questions that aid the Board in determining the applicant’s “good moral character” as required by law. The regulatory questions ask about your past history in the following areas: Criminal History, Substance Use, Physical or Mental Health, Discipline or Investigations of Other Licenses or Professions, and Military Discharge. Affirmative responses do not preclude an individual from licensure, but do prevent issuance of a Temporary Permit. Applicants are expected to read the questions carefully and answer honestly. Many persons are licensed each year who provide affirmative responses to one or more of the regulatory questions.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

What documentation will I have to submit if I have to answer “Yes” to a Regulatory Question?

You must submit a detailed written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the event(s) which you are disclosing on your application. You must also submit additional supporting documentation. Examples of supporting documentation include: Case Action Summary for criminal activity; Admission & Discharge Summary for previous substance use or mental health treatment; Military DD214.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

What is the “Preview” section of the application?

This is where you may review all information submitted on the application for accuracy and return to previous screens to make revisions before submitting your application. You will not be able to make any revisions to your application once it is submitted. You should also be aware that failure to answer Regulatory Questions honestly may result in denial or licensure, or disciplinary action if the license is issued.

Permalink 1 0

What is the “Affirm, Pay, & Submit” section of the application?

You will type your electronic signature into the area indicated as your affirmation that the information submitted in your application is true and accurate and submit electronic payment information via credit or debit card.

For more information, please see the Endorsement to Licensure: General FAQs.

Permalink 1 0

Licensure by Endorsement - Continuing Education (CE)

Licensure by Endorsement - Continuing Education (CE)

How do I obtain continuing education (CE)?

We typically accept CE courses that are approved or accredited by any state board of nursing, state nurses association, or national organization such as the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC).  You may search the internet for CE for nurses to locate online providers.

Permalink 2 8

How do I know if the CE is acceptable?

You should check the approval or accreditation statement to see if the CE will be accepted.  The Board does not accept contact hours earned from MEDCEU (www.medceu.com) or its affiliates, i.e. American Medical Education.  College courses are accepted toward the CE requirement if they were completed after obtaining initial licensure as a nurse.

Permalink 1 9

What is the earning period for the contact hours?

Contact hours should be no older than 24 months from the date you apply.

Permalink 0 0

Must I still submit CE if the state from where I am endorsing does not require it?

Yes. All endorsement applicants are required to submit 24 contact hours of continuing education, even if they are coming from a state that does not require CE.

Permalink 0 4

Must I submit CE if I am a new graduate?

Yes. All endorsement applicants, regardless of their date of graduation or date of licensure, are required to submit 24 contact hours of continuing education.

Permalink 0 2

May I use my nursing program college course work as my 24 contact hours of CE?

College courses are accepted toward the CE requirement if they were completed after obtaining initial licensure as a nurse.

Permalink 6 1

Licensure by Endorsement - General Questions

Licensure by Endorsement - General Questions

How long does it take to get a license?

There is no timetable for issuing licenses. A license will only be issued when all requirements are completed. Applications are processed on a first-in, first-out basis.

Permalink 5 34

How much does it cost?

The costs are: Application Fee ($85), Transaction Fee ($3.50), and Temporary Permit ($50).

Permalink 2 2

How do I pay?

Payment is accepted electronically via credit or debit card in the online application which may be found here.

Permalink 1 0

May I get a refund?

No. FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE per Alabama law, even if your permanent Alabama nursing license is issued prior to the Temporary Permit, you are deemed ineligible for a Temporary Permit, or you withdraw your application.

Permalink 1 0

How long do I have to complete the application process?

Your application and fees will remain active for one year. You would be able to complete the endorsement process at any time within that period.

Permalink 2 0

Do I need to endorse if I had an Alabama license in the past?

It depends on the type of license to which you are referring. If you have ever held an Alabama LPN or RN license but did not keep it current, then the status is Lapsed and you should reinstate it.

For further information see the Reinstatement Lapsed License FAQs.

Permalink 1 0

What if I had an LPN license in Alabama but now I’m an RN in another state?

You must apply for RN licensure by endorsement in order to become licensed as an RN in Alabama.

Permalink 2 0

May I apply for an LPN license in Alabama based on LPN licensure in another state that allowed me to take NCLEX-PN® because I partially completed an RN program?

No. In order to apply for LPN licensure by endorsement, you must have graduated or successfully completed an approved practical nursing program in Alabama, or an approved practical nursing program located in another state or territory that substantially meets the same educational criteria as Alabama programs.

Permalink 2 0

Will my license or other correspondence from the ABN be forwarded?

Most of the Board’s mail is not forwarded, due to the nature of the contents.  Please be sure to keep your address up to date with the Board office.  There is a $25 fee to resend mail that is returned to the Board office.

Permalink 1 0

How may I check the status of my application?

The endorsement status check provides you with a checklist of items that the Board is still waiting to receive.  Once the license is issued, you will be directed to the “License Look-Up” section of the Board’s website. You may check the status of your application here.

Permalink 5 1

How may I verify that my license has been issued?

You may view licensure information under the License Lookup section of the Board’s website here.

Permalink 1 0

How long is the license period once it is issued?

The license period is for two years based upon the renewal cycle of the license. LPN renewal is every ODD numbered year and RN renewal is every EVEN numbered year. Thus, a license issued prior to August 31 will expire December 31 of that same year if it is a renewal year for that license type. For example, an RN license issued 08/31/2017 will expire 12/31/2018; whereas an LPN license issued 08/31/2017 will not expire until 12/31/2017. (Renewal begins September 1 each year.)

Permalink 1 1

Am I eligible for licensure by Endorsement if I am an Excelsior graduate?

Since your nursing education program (Regents/Excelsior) did not include clinical experience, you would have to supply a copy of your LPN transcript and detailed work experience as a nurse (both LPN and RN) after you submit the application and fee for licensure. The Board is looking for evidence of concurrent theory and practice in “adult, maternal-child, and psychiatric nursing,” as required by the ABN Administrative Code. Each applicant is reviewed individually.  We do not prescreen, so we cannot tell in advance whether you will meet the requirements or not.

You should also refer to the following declaratory rulings regarding Excelsior graduates:

RONNIE DALE ENGLAND, JR.

ELIZABETH JANE BEARD ZWAGIL

BONNIE KEMBLE

STEPHEN BRANT EBERHART

Permalink 7 5

Licensure by Endorsement - Temporary Permits

Licensure by Endorsement - Temporary Permits

What if my current state of licensure no longer issues license cards in order to submit a notarized copy of it for issuance of a Temporary Permit?

If the state you are coming from no longer issues license cards with the effective dates, you may submit a notarized copy of the online verification page (which reflects name, license #, status, and effective dates) from the Board of Nursing website for the issuance of the temporary permit.

Permalink 2 0

How long is a Temporary Permit active?

A Temporary Permit is active for ninety (90) days. It is issued one time only, and is not renewable.

Permalink 0 0

May I be issued a Temporary Permit if I have an affirmative response to one of the regulatory questions?

No. A Temporary Permit may not be issued when an affirmative disclosure is made on the Endorsement Application.

Permalink 0 0

May I be issued a Temporary Permit if I don’t have an active license in any jurisdiction?

No. A Temporary Permit may not be issued when the applicant does not have an active license in any jurisdiction.

Permalink 0 0

If I earned CE on my Temporary Permit may I use that toward my next license renewal?

No. CE for renewal must be earned following issuance of the permanent license.

Permalink 0 0

Licensure by Endorsement - Transcripts

Licensure by Endorsement - Transcripts

What do I need to have my Nursing Program submit to the Board?

An official transcript must be received in a sealed envelope from your nursing program. A permanent license will not be issued until it is received.

Permalink 0 5

How do I obtain a transcript if my nursing program has closed?

Contact the Board of Nursing in the state where your school was located and inquire who was appointed receivership of the school’s records.

Permalink 0 0

Licensure by Endorsement - Verification

Licensure by Endorsement - Verification

How do I know if I am supposed to request a verification of my original licensure from NURSYS®?

You may check with the Board of Nursing that issued your original nursing license for how that Board processes verification requests. Alternatively, you may check with NURSYS® at www.nursys.com and follow their instructions for requesting verification.

Permalink 0 0

May I have the verification submitted via fax?

No. Only an original verification received directly from your original Board of Nursing is accepted.

Permalink 0 0

LICENSURE - REINSTATEMENT

Deployed Nurses

Deployed Nurses

What do I need to do to have my license Active again if it lapsed while I was deployed?

You must submit a request for an “Actively Deployed Application” with a copy of the military orders which were in place when your license lapsed and no later than six (6) months after discharge from active service or return to inactive military status.

Permalink 0 0

What do I do after I submit my request for an Actively Deployed Application?

Based on the orders you submit, if you are eligible for the Actively Deployed Application, one will be sent to you in the manner you request: email, mail, or fax.

Permalink 0 0

Do I need to have Continuing Education (CE)?

Yes. You will need to demonstrate having earned adequate CE for the renewal of the license had you not been actively deployed. If you did not earn enough CE prior to being actively deployed, you may earn CE while your request for an Actively Deployed Application is considered.

Permalink 0 0

How many CE hours do I need?

Twenty-four (24) hours of CE are required for license renewal.

Note: Nurses licensed during the licensure period (i.e., New Graduates, Endorsements) may have a prorated amount of CE for the first renewal if they were deployed prior to renewing the license for the first time. If you are unsure how much CE you are required to demonstrate, you may request that this information be communicated to you when you submit your request for an Actively Deployed Application.

Permalink 4 0

If I earn CE in the current CE earning/renewal period to have my license reinstated or renewed following being actively deployed, may I use that toward the next renewal?

No, you may not use that CE toward the next renewal of your license. You should take care to ensure that those CE hours that you earn in the current renewal period are not present on your Individual CE Record for the next renewal.

Permalink 0 0

Do I have to pay any extra fees to reinstate my license that lapsed while I was deployed?

No. If you held an active Alabama nursing license and were actively deployed whenever the United States military is engaged in active military operations against any foreign power, your license may be reinstated or renewed without penalty or payment of the reinstatement or late fee.

Permalink 0 0

What if I was an Advanced Practice Nurse (APN) when I was actively deployed and I want to reinstate that approval as well?

First, you must have an active RN license in order to reinstate AP approval. Otherwise, you will have to meet all other requirements to reinstate your AP approval, including Pharmacology CE, and payment of the reinstatement fee.

Permalink 0 0

Reactivation of Retired License

Reactivation of Retired License

What if I did not renew my license because I retired but now I wish to return to working as a nurse?

First, you should check the status of your license on the License Lookup section of the website. If your license is listed as “Lapsed” you are not eligible to Reactivate a Retired License. Instead, you should complete the Reinstatement of a Lapsed License process. You may find that electronic application here.

Permalink 1 1

What do I have to do “unretire” my nursing license?

In order to reactivate an inactive license with a “Retired” status, the applicant shall pay the required fees and submit 24 contact hours of continuing education (CE) earned within two years of the date of the application.

Permalink 5 0

How much does it cost?

The fee for reactivation of a license with retired status is: $575, if reactivation is within two years of obtaining retired status ($500 reactivation fee plus $75 renewal fee); or $225, if reactivation is after two years of obtaining retired status ($150 reactivation fee plus $75 renewal fee). FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.

Permalink 0 0

Do I have to have any CE to Reactivate my license?

Yes, you must have 24 hours of CE earned within the past 24 months.

Permalink 1 0

If I earn CE in the current CE earning/renewal period to Reactivate my license from Retired Status, may I use that toward the next renewal?

No, you may not use that CE toward the next renewal of your license. You should take care to ensure that those CE hours that you earn in the current renewal period are not present on your Individual CE Record for the next renewal.

Permalink 0 0

What if I have to answer “Yes” to one of the Regulatory Questions?

You should answer the Regulatory Questions honestly and you may be contacted to provide additional documentation regarding your disclosure.

Permalink 0 0

Reinstatement of Lapsed License - General

Reinstatement of Lapsed License - General

Will I have to retake the NCLEX before reinstating my license back to the active status?

No, you are not required to retake the NCLEX in order to regain an active status.

Permalink 2 0

What is the reinstatement fee?

The fee for reinstatement is $225 with a $3.50 transaction fee (Total: $228.50).

Permalink 2 0

May I apply for reinstatement of my license online?

Yes, you can complete the application and pay the fee using a credit or debit card here.

Permalink 4 0

Will I need verification of licensure from another state where I’ve been licensed?

No, we do not require verification of licensure from other states for reinstatement.

Permalink 0 0

Do I reinstate or endorse my license to get it back to an active status in Alabama if I’ve also been licensed in other states?

Once you’ve had an Alabama license, you always have an Alabama license. If you did not keep it current, then the status is lapsed and you will need to reinstate it. If, however, you have been licensed in a different category than the one you were licensed in in Alabama, you would need to endorse that license. For example, if you were licensed as an LPN in Alabama and were subsequently licensed as an RN in another state, you would need to endorse your RN license into Alabama. For further information, please refer to the Licensure by Endorsement section.

Permalink 0 0

How long is the license period once it is issued?

The license period is for two years based upon the renewal cycle of the license. LPN renewal is every ODD numbered year and RN renewal is every EVEN numbered year. Thus, a license issued prior to August 31 will expire December 31 of that same year if it is a renewal year for that license type. For example, an RN license issued 08/31/2017 will expire 12/31/2018; whereas an LPN license issued 08/31/2017 will not expire until 12/31/2017. (Renewal begins September 1 each year.)

Permalink 1 0

What are Regulatory Questions?

These are questions that aid the Board in determining the applicant’s “good moral character” as required by law. The regulatory questions ask about your past history in the following areas: Criminal History, Substance Use, Physical or Mental Health, Discipline or Investigations of Other Licenses or Professions, and Military Discharge. Affirmative responses do not preclude an individual from reinstatement of licensure, but may prompt further investigation. Applicants are expected to read the questions carefully and answer honestly.

Many persons are licensed each year who provide affirmative responses to one or more of the regulatory questions.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 1 0

What documentation will I have to submit if I have to answer “Yes” to a Regulatory Question?

You must submit a detailed written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the event(s) which you are disclosing on your application. You must also submit additional supporting documentation. Examples of supporting documentation include: Case Action Summary for criminal activity; Admission & Discharge Summary for previous substance use or mental health treatment; Military DD214.

For more information, please see the Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action FAQs.

Permalink 0 0

Reinstatement of Lapsed License – CE

Reinstatement of Lapsed License – CE

How many CE hours will I need to reinstate my license?

You must have 24 contact hours of CE to have a complete application for reinstatement For further information regarding continuing education, please refer to the Continuing Education section of the Board’s website.

Permalink 1 0

What is the CE earning period for reinstatement?

CE for reinstatement must be earned within the 24 months immediately prior to the date you submit your application. Therefore, it depends on when the reinstatement application is submitted.

Permalink 0 0

What documentation must I submit if some or all of my CE is listed in my Individual CE Record?

CE that was electronically uploaded into your Individual CE Record by an ABNP (Approved ABN Provider) does not require additional documentation to be submitted to the Board. However, if you manually entered CE that you earned from a non-ABNP, you must submit certificates for those hours.

Also, if you earn additional CE from an ABNP after you submit your reinstatement application, please notify the ABN in order to have the newly earned CE reviewed as part of your application.

Permalink 1 1

Must I submit copies of my CE certificates?

Yes. You may upload certificates for CE earned from non-ABNP CE providers directly into your Individual CE Record for review and approval, or you may fax them to (334) 293-5201, “Attention: Reinstatement.”

Permalink 0 0

How do I earn CE?

There are a multitude of ways to earn Nursing CE. An internet search is often a good start. You may also visit the Continuing Education section of the Board’s website or visit the Alabama Nursing Resource Center web page. As a reminder, MEDCEU (the online company) contact hours are not accepted by the ABN.

Permalink 0 0

May I apply for reinstatement before earning the contact hours?

No, you must have the contact hours completed prior to submitting the application. An application submitted with inadequate CE is incomplete.

Permalink 0 0

Do I need to take specific courses in order to reinstate, such as a refresher course or college courses?

No, you are not required to take specific courses. You are only required to have a total of 24 contact hours of CE from approved providers.

Permalink 0 0

Who are approved providers of CE?

Boards of Nursing, many nursing employers, and many nursing organizations are providers of CE. You do not have to earn CE from a provider approved by the ABN in order for the CE to be eligible for the reinstatement application. CE earned from a recognized provider is adequate.

For more information, please see the CE FAQs.

Permalink 2 4

Reinstatement of Lapsed License – Temporary Permit

Reinstatement of Lapsed License – Temporary Permit

May I be issued a temporary permit while I earn CE hours for Reinstatement?

No, a temporary permit is not available for reinstatement applicants.

Permalink 2 0

Revoked Reinstatement - Comprehensive Evaluation

Revoked Reinstatement - Comprehensive Evaluation

What is a Comprehensive Evaluation?

An evaluation conducted in an inpatient setting over a period of four (4) to seven (7) days by a multidisciplinary team that includes assessment of the applicant or licensed nurse’s physical health, substance use, psychological and psychiatric functioning, family and social assessment, and legal and occupational history. Neuropsychological and cognitive testing, drug testing, and any other testing deemed appropriate by the evaluation team may also be included.

Permalink 0 1

Must I have a Comprehensive Evaluation if I completed Drug Court (or some other deferred prosecution-type program)? Does this count?

What one must do to satisfy the court and possibly stay out of jail differs from what one must do to satisfy the Board and demonstrate that he or she is able to provide safe nursing care. Although you may submit whatever documentation you have regarding what you completed to satisfy the court or some other entity, in order to apply for reinstatement of your nursing license, you must comply with the requirements defined by the Board.

Permalink 0 0

How may I get a Comprehensive Evaluation?

You should contact one of the identified Board-recognized providers who have a Health Professions Tract to schedule the Evaluation identified on the Treatment Provider: Comprehensive Evaluation list.

Permalink 0 0

How much does a Comprehensive Evaluation cost?

The Board has no control over the costs of the Evaluation performed by healthcare agencies. However, the Board is aware that costs are usually about $4000. Some specialized assessments, such as a professional sexual misconduct assessment, usually incur additional costs.  You should check for costs when you contact the provider.

Permalink 0 0

Does insurance usually pay the required Evaluation?

No, insurance rarely pays, unless the individual is still actively seeking treatment for the condition.  Even then, payment of services is dependent upon the individual health plan.

Permalink 0 0

Do I need a referral from the Board to have a Comprehensive Evaluation?

No, you do not need a referral.  You just need to call your selected provider to schedule the Comprehensive Evaluation. However, if you intend to use the results of the Comprehensive Evaluation toward reinstatement of your revoked nursing license, you should complete and submit the General Release & Authorization to Disclose (Form 3).  Board rules require the sharing of information between healthcare providers and Board staff. You should submit this form at least two weeks prior to your scheduled Evaluation.

Permalink 0 0

Must I travel to have the Comprehensive Evaluation completed if I am in a state that does not have an ABN-recognized provider listed on the Comprehensive Evaluation Provider List?

Yes, unless your selected provider is willing to submit required documentation in order to become a Board-recognized provider. Your provider should contact the Board if they desire to become recognized by the ABN.

Permalink 0 0

Do I need a substance use Comprehensive Evaluation?

Yes, if the circumstances that resulted in the revocation of the license involved allegations of:

  1. Substance abuse;
  2. Substance dependence;
  3. Drug diversion; or
  4. The license was revoked while encumbered by an order requiring a program of random drug screening.

Permalink 0 0

Must I complete a Comprehensive Evaluation if I completed treatment at a Board-recognized treatment provider?

Board rules require that the Comprehensive Evaluation be performed within the twelve months prior to submitting an application for Reinstatement of a Revoked Nursing License.

Permalink 0 0

Do I need a mental health Comprehensive Evaluation?

Board rules require that applicants whose license revocation circumstances involved allegations of physical or mental impairment shall provide documented evidence of current neuropsychological and physiological evaluations.

Permalink 0 0

May my current psychiatrist complete the mental health evaluation for me?

Often, yes. But you should contact the Board prior to seeking an evaluation from your psychiatrist to ensure that appropriate releases are signed by all parties, and that the psychiatrist is willing and able to perform all necessary components of the evaluation.

*Note: A sole psychiatrist evaluation is insufficient for purposes of a substance use Comprehensive Evaluation. Further, the Board will not accept attempts to “piecemeal” the required substance use Comprehensive Evaluation.

Permalink 0 0

Revoked Reinstatement - Drug Screen

Revoked Reinstatement - Drug Screen

What information do I need to provide to document drug screening results?

You should submit detailed testing results and the missed call report from the Board-recognized program of random drug screening.

Permalink 0 0

What is the Board-recognized program of random drug screening?

FirstSource. Enrollment instructions are available in the Reinstatement – Revoked License section of the website.

Permalink 0 0

How much do the drug screens cost?

The Board has no control over the costs of the drug screens. However, screens typically cost approximately $60-$80 each.

Permalink 0 0

Revoked Reinstatement - General

Revoked Reinstatement - General

May I call the Board for assistance if I just don’t know where to begin?

Although you may call the Board, there are many factors that only you, the potential applicant know, so the Board will be unable to assist you regarding those issues. Before you call the Board, ask yourself these questions:

  1. Have I read all information on the Revoked Reinstatement section of the website?
  2. Have I read the Requirements (“Board Rules”) about Reinstatement of a Revoked License?
  3. Did I watch the Video about Reinstatement of a Revoked Nursing License?
  4. Have I read the entire Application for Reinstatement of a Revoked Nursing License?
  5. Have I read all of the Application Supporting Documents, Forms 1 – 4?
  6. Have I reviewed a copy of the Order which resulted in the revocation of my license?
  7. If there was no Order of the Board which revoked my license and I voluntarily surrendered, why did I surrender my license and have I addressed that issue?
  8. Has anything occurred since the revocation of my license (i.e., arrests, convictions, etc.) that I still need to address?

Permalink 0 1

Why is my license listed as revoked when I voluntarily surrendered it?

A Voluntary Surrender results in a license status of revocation. You must complete the reinstatement of a revoked nursing license process if you wish to have your nursing license reinstated.

Permalink 0 1

Why do I still have to do all of this when I’ve been in recovery for a long time?

The Board’s requirements are very specific. You must show a pattern of recovery, and ability to document such, in order to demonstrate that you are able to comply with any monitoring stipulations imposed if the license is reinstated.

Permalink 0 0

Do I have to work as a nurse if my license is reinstated?

Yes, if the license is reinstated on probation. Probation includes a minimum work requirement in a licensed nursing capacity of 96 hours per month. If you do not plan to work as a nurse, you may need to carefully consider your plans to apply to reinstate your license.

Permalink 0 0

If my license is reinstated, how long will I be on probation?

It depends on the circumstances of the events which lead up to and following the revocation of your license. Currently, the maximum amount of time that a license is placed on probation is sixty months.

Permalink 0 0

What all do I have to do if I’m reinstated on probation?

Common monitoring stipulations include: monthly reporting to the Board, quarterly reporting by the nursing employer, quarterly reporting by the continuing care counselor (if required and not yet complete), quarterly reporting by the individual therapist (if required and not yet complete), attendance of at least three abstinence-based support group meetings (e.g., AA, NA, Celebrate Recovery, etc.) weekly (if required), nursing employment for a minimum period of time, random drug screening (if required), and prescription verification. You should carefully review your Order if your license is reinstated for your specific requirements.

Permalink 0 0

How may I get a copy of my previous order?

A written request is required and may be submitted to the Board via email (abn@abn.alabama.gov), mail (Alabama Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 303900, Montgomery, AL 36130-3900), or fax (334-293-5201).  Copies of records are five (5) dollars search fee and 0.25 cents per page.  The fees must be paid to the Board prior to the records being released.  You will be sent a bill or you may pay the bill online if you request it as a licensee of the Alabama Board of Nursing.

Permalink 0 0

LICENSURE - MISCELLANEOUS

Citizenship/Legal Presence

Citizenship/Legal Presence

Why do I have to prove my citizenship when I was born in the US?

The Alabama Immigration Law requires that in order to issue or renew a license, each applicant or licensed nurse is required to submit proof of citizenship or legal presence at least once.
Submit the appropriate checklist and copies of appropriate documents via email, fax, or mail. Contact information is on the form.

Permalink 2 0

Do I have to do this for every renewal?

  • Citizens are only required to be verified once.
  • Non-citizens with a permanent resident card are only required to submit proof one time.
  • Non-citizens with other documents are required to submit proof at time of original licensure and at each renewal.

Permalink 1 0

Do I have to submit this even though I was originally licensed a very long time ago and am reinstating my license?

Yes. The Alabama Immigration Law requires that a licensed nurse is required to submit proof of citizenship or legal presence at least once if she or he is a citizen or non-citizen with a permanent residence card. Non-citizens with other documents must submit documentation at each renewal.

Permalink 1 0

What do I need to do to comply with the citizenship/legal presence requirement?

You must complete the appropriate form for your specific situation and submit the completed form and supporting documentation to the Board.

Exam Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Endorsement Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Reinstatement Applicants Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist
Already Licensed in Alabama Citizen Checklist Non-Citizen Checklist

Permalink 3 0

How do I submit my citizenship or legal presence documentation?

There is contact information on the form. Forms may be submitted by email (preferred), mail, fax, or in person at the Board office. For example, a nurse or applicant, who is a US Citizen, may complete the form and take a photo of the form with the person’s Driver’s License in view on the form and email the photo to the email address on the citizenship form.

Permalink 8 0

Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action

Criminal History and Prior Disciplinary Action

What type of criminal history should be reported on the application?

All arrests and convictions should be reported. This includes cases which were ultimately dismissed. It includes cases which were resolved by a guilty plea, nolo contendre plea, a trial, or by some type of deferred prosecution. Felonies and misdemeanors should be reported. Minor traffic violations do not need to be reported. DUI is not a minor traffic violation.

Permalink 2 6

Can a person obtain a license as a nurse with a misdemeanor or felony conviction?

Each applicant is evaluated on a case by case basis. The Board of Nursing considers the nature, severity, and date of the offense, as well as rehabilitative efforts and other factors. The Board cannot make a determination for approval or denial of licensure until the entire application and supporting documentation is received and reviewed.

Permalink 10 9

Do I have to report criminal charges if I completed a period of probation and the charges were dismissed or the case was closed?

Yes. Offenses must be reported to the Board even if you received a suspended imposition of sentence and the record is now considered closed. The arrest is still on your record and must be reported.

Permalink 0 0

How can I help facilitate a speedy review of my application?

The Board of Nursing strongly encourages all individuals with a criminal or disciplinary history to be fully prepared with information regarding their background and to start the application process as soon as you can.

Permalink 0 1

What must be reported concerning discipline by another state Board of Nursing?

All prior or current disciplinary action against another professional license must be reported, whether it occurred in Alabama or in another state or territory. If RN to LPN where there was discipline by this Board against the LPN license, this should also be reported.

Permalink 0 0

Will it help to call and check on the status of my application?

It may take additional time to process an application containing a “yes” answer. You will be notified if further information is required. Please do not call Board of Nursing office as such only serves to delay the process.

Permalink 0 0

Can I obtain a temporary permit if I have a “yes” answer to a regulatory question on the application?

If your application can be cleared without discipline, you will be issued a temporary permit, if otherwise eligible. If your application cannot be cleared without discipline, you will not be issued a temporary permit. Your case will be presented to the Board and, if your application is approved, you will be made eligible to sit for the exam.

Permalink 0 4

What type of documentation do I need to submit in support of my application if I have a prior criminal record or license discipline?

You should submit:

  • Certified official court document(s) relative to your criminal record, showing the date(s) and circumstance(s) surrounding your arrest(s)/conviction(s), sections of the law violated, and disposition of the case. This would normally consist of the charging document (Complaint or Indictment), and the Case Action Summary or other documents showing the final disposition of your case. If placed on probation, you should also include the Order of Probation and official documentation of completion of the probationary period. The court clerk must certify these court documents.
  • Certified copy of the documents relative to any disciplinary action taken against any license by another state board of nursing. The documents must come from the agency that took the disciplinary action and must be certified by that agency. If previously disciplined by the Alabama Board of Nursing, you should state the action taken against you.
  • A detailed description of the circumstances surrounding your criminal record or disciplinary action and a thorough description of the rehabilitative changes in your lifestyle since the time of the offense or disciplinary action which would enable you to avoid future occurrences. It would be helpful to include factors in your lifestyle which you feel may have contributed to your crime or disciplinary action, what you have learned about yourself since that time, and the changes you have made that support your rehabilitation.

Note: The burden of proof lies with the applicant to demonstrate evidence of rehabilitation. Examples of rehabilitation evidence include, but are not limited to:

  • If applicable to your crime or discipline, documented evidence of professional treatment and counseling you may have completed. Please provide admission and discharge summaries if treatment received.
  • Letters of reference, on official letterhead, from: employers, nursing program administrators, nursing instructors, health professionals, professional counselors, support group sponsors, parole or probation officers, or other individuals in positions of authority who are knowledgeable about your rehabilitation efforts.
  • Proof of community work, education, and/or self-improvement efforts.

Court-issued certificate of rehabilitation or evidence of expungement, proof of compliance with criminal probation or parole, and orders of the court.

Permalink 7 0

Foreign Nursing Program Graduates

Foreign Nursing Program Graduates

What do I have to do to get a nursing license in Alabama if I attended a Foreign Nursing Program?

You must meet the same requirements as all other applicants, in addition to requirements specific to graduates of Foreign Nursing Programs.

Permalink 4 1

What are the basic requirements of all other applicants?

  1. You must be a high school graduate, or equivalent.
  2. You must have a valid Social Security Number (SSN).
  3. You must be a citizen or legal US resident. See the Citizenship/Legal Presence FAQs for further information.
  4. You must demonstrate good moral character.
  5. You must have graduated from a nursing program (RN or PN) which substantially meets the same educational criteria as Alabama nursing programs.
  6. You must submit a complete application. For information about what is required on the application, see the Exam to Licensure: General Frequently Asked Questions & Exam to Licensure: Application Frequently Asked Questions.

Permalink 1 0

What do I have to do if I want to apply for Licensure by Exam if I am a graduate of a Foreign Nursing Program?

  1. 1. You must complete the following two items prior to submitting an Application for Licensure by Examination:
    • Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Certification Program (CP). The CP includes the CGFNS Qualifying Exam and demonstration of passing one of the accepted English language proficiency exams.
    • Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) Professional Report. The CES Professional Report includes a detailed analysis of credentials earned at multiple levels of nursing education received outside of the U.S. according to a specific state’s requirements.
  2. Be a graduate of a nursing education program approved by the proper authorities in the country where the program is located.
  3. Meet the requirements for nursing program content employed as criteria for approval in Alabama at the time of the applicant’s graduation.
  4. Make up any educational deficiencies.

Permalink 1 0

What do I have to do if I am applying for Licensure by Endorsement if I am a graduate of a Foreign Nursing Program?

  1. You must submit a Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) Professional Report.
    • The CES Professional Report includes the following: a detailed analysis of credentials earned at multiple levels of nursing education received outside of the U.S. according to a specific state’s requirements.
      • The CES Professional Report is not a substitute for the CGFNS Certification Program, which is typically completed prior to receiving the first U.S. state nursing license.
    • Be a graduate of a nursing education program approved by the proper authorities in the country where the program is located.
  2. Meet the requirements for nursing program content employed as criteria for approval in Alabama at the time of the applicant’s graduation.
  3. Make up any educational deficiencies.
  4. Pass the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX®) if you have not already done so.

Permalink 2 0